Big Bourbon Bacon Chili

In spite of my better intentions and in direct opposition of my best interest, I sometimes hire people.  While wading through the vast slew of resumes, seeing experience is nice, noting education helpful, but nothing quite grabs the attention like bacon.

If you are drooling already, you are not alone, so am I.  Bacon ought to be the 5th food group.  Yes, you read me right- bacon should be a food group on to itself.  This isn’t a weird idea at all.  Think of Australia.  Australia is a country and a continent.   It is high time we consider of bacon as the ‘Australia’ of food.   It is just that damn good.

 

It is DAY 362.  If I had doubted that we’d make it the entire 365 days of chili, I no longer do.  Consider this ‘humbling, bumbling oasis of chili’ continent on to itself.

 

Ingredients:

 

Sauce:

 

1 C vegetable juice

2 T bourbon

2 T brown sugar

1 T white sugar

1 T chili powder

½ t coriander

½ t paprika

 

Bacon:

 

2 lb of bacon

 

Directions:

 

  1. Mix the sauce ingredients in a small sauce pan. Using a whisk is not only fun, it is probably the best way to get the sugar stirred in to the solution.
  2. Simmer on low for 2 hours. This reduces the sauce.
  3. While sauce simmers, prepare the bacon in your favorite bacon makin’ manner. We bake the bacon at 400F on cooling racks (which are set on a brownie pan to catch the drippings).
  4. To serve: Use your imagination, dip the bacon, make a bacon soup in the sauce, or perhaps you could fashion a bacon and sauce sandwich with fresh homemade bread.*

 

* All iterations are tasty, trust me.  I am very thorough with bacon experimentation.  I never met a bacon I didn’t like.

 

Big Bourbon Bacon Chili.  I dream in bacon.  Do you?

Big Bourbon Bacon Chili. I dream in bacon. Do you?

Fifth food group feeding the sixth sense on the seventh day.

Fifth food group feeding the sixth sense on the seventh day.

Tasting Notes:

 

The spicy sweetness of the Big Bourbon Chili sauce played the perfect foil to bacon’s salty, meaty, wonderfulness.  I had intended to make at least three pounds of bacon but, true to its shrill, vexatious nature, our inept smoke alarm began screaming early into the first bacon batch.  I can think of no other object that is more deserving of being sent down under (6 feet under).

This entry was posted in bacon, sauce and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Big Bourbon Bacon Chili

  1. hueyut says:

    yum bacon, so yummy This recipe sounds delicious!

What's on your mind?

