Chili Ham Salad Sandwiches

The mystique and all-consuming wonderment of capturing lightning in a bottle is not to be underestimated. I paused momentarily, having concerns about pushing the envelope too far and thus bleeding to death from the resulting paper cuts.  Magical ham salad- Grandma Chili365 had been regaling me with stories of 1930s tavern dances and these incredible sandwiches.

Rare indeed, these, but man I had to give ‘er a go.  Reanimating the tragically hip allure of these finger food tasties* would be like finding another pair of totally posh distance running shoes (like these Merrell Mix Masters.I have just shy of 900 miles on them.)

The finest running shoe ever created.

The finest running shoe ever created.

 

Making a psychedelically straight-edge batch of ham salad befitting of the dancing snacks from my family’s ancestral tavern would be on par with apprehending a stealthy, unicorn-riding ninja while wearing the cat’s pajamas.  Me-O-W.

 

*Microsoft Word HATES the word ‘tasties’.     The software was tripping all over itself to change the word to ‘testis’.    I’ll let you be the judge.  Reread the above making the awkward word substitution and let me know what you think.

9 days of chili left

Ingredients:

 

8 oz cubed ham

½ C finely diced pickled banana peppers

1/3 C mayonnaise

2 t chili powder

¼ t coriander

½ t hot sauce.

Bread (you choose)

 

Directions:

 

  1. Using a pastry cutter, chop the cubed ham into much smaller bits. (I’d have used the blender, but the blender’s motor started on fire yesterday. I set it outside (on a ‘small appliance time-out’). It is still ‘doing time’ and is currently suffering through a sleet-storm.
    Turning your pastry cutter into a ham cutter (surprisingly) does not require an expensive after-market mod.

    Turning your pastry cutter into a ham cutter (surprisingly) does not require an expensive after-market mod.

    Q: What's white and stands in the corner? A: A naughty Blender.

    Q: What’s white and stands in the corner?
    A: A naughty Blender.

  2. Add minced ham and banana peppers to a bowl.
  3. In a separate bowl, mix mayo, chili powder, coriander, and hot sauce.
  4. Add the chili mayo to the ham/pepper mix and mix well.
  5. Serve on bread.

 

Chili Ham Salad Sandwiches

Chili Ham Salad Sandwiches

Tasting Notes:

While my chili ham sandwiches likely can’t rival the fantastic rural tavern fare prepared by my great-great grandmother nearly a century ago, we enjoyed today’s meal.  The chili ham salad was spread both on soft wheat and on hard rye bread.  Of the two, the wheat bread better showcased the creamy, piquant ham goodness.  The best bet would have been homemade bread, but I wasn’t able to push the envelope that far.

 

I haven’t seen daylight in at least two weeks.  I think someone made off with the sun.  ANYthing that reminds me of sunshine and summer is a beautiful thing.  Finger sammies with mayo make me think of picnics on the beach and for that I am very grateful.  While today’s sandwiches were delicious and much enjoyed, they weren’t exactly lightning in a bottle.  The good news is, they weren’t exactly ‘testis’ in a bottle either.

 

 

This entry was posted in Ham, sandwich and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Chili Ham Salad Sandwiches

  1. I love the idea of the banana peppers. And I can almost picture the tavern. I couldn’t see the brand on that blender, but I can tell you that my Krups always worked well even after being run over by the car. How does that happen you may ask?

    Well, when one opens the garage to find several lurking teenagers, one can only speculate they had quickly hidden the blender under the car before making their hasty exit…I have yet to get a full confession.

  2. Andy says:

    Sorry to leave you hanging. I hereby recognize your appropriation of my favorite joke. I regret everything.

What's on your mind?

