Tuna Chili Rellenos

The house smelled vaguely of smoked tobacco.  I paced- frantically.  There had been problems- loud noises and burning followed by yelling, cursing, allegations, and painful blisters.  This stark retrospection had me on razor’s edge.  Our smoke alarm, the fancy new one with the (oh joy) 10 year battery is, more accurately, a screeching harpy bent on destroying my sanity. This inutile instrument of anxiety and annoyance fails to alert inhabitants of the presence of smoke but bake a batch of French fries and that shrieking turd will let the entire zip code know that you’ve just set your oven to 425F.  Tonight I was attempting to broil poblanos for the rellenos. I was more nervous than a cat in a room full of rocking chairs.  As the dark green peppers roasted, moment by moment I perspired more.  Waiting.  Mere seconds before I was to remove the peppers from the oven and stave off eminent alarm-induced deafness, there was a knock on the door.  Sweating handsomely and bedecked in the finest in non-matching oven mitts, I rushed for the front door.  Flinging it open to the winter cold, I found a solicitor smiling at me from the dark stoop.  Typically I have a zero tolerance policy for salesmen and tonight, with poblano-geddon nanoseconds from screaming into reality, was no different.  In fact, the surprised bagman (begman?) was actually quite lucky his ill-timed visit didn’t result in his strangulation.  The oven mitts wouldn’t allow for a firm grip.

 

 

Ingredients:

6 Poblano peppers

1 can (5 oz) tuna, drained

1 ¼ C shredded cheddar cheese

¼ C diced green onions

1 T chili powder

½ t cumin

¼ t red pepper

 

Directions:

 

  1. Broil peppers. Carefully and not at my house. Do this until the peppers become soft and begin to blister.
  2. Remove peppers from the oven and set the oven to 350F.
  3. Allow peppers to cool enough so that they can be handled.
  4. While peppers cool, mix remaining ingredients in a bowl.
  5. Cut a slit in each pepper and remove the seeds. This is a messy and awful job. Make someone else do it. For example, if you’ve taken a door-to-door salesman hostage. He could be your pepper patsy.
  6. Place deseeded peppers in a glass baking dish and stuff them with the tuna/chili/cheese stuffing.
  7. Bake at 350 until the cheese has melted.
  8. Serve on a warm tortilla or rice or on a potato.

 

Tuna Chili Rellenos

Tuna Chili Rellenos

Tasting Notes:

 

I placed tuna in the chile rellenos.  While this may not be the traditional way to serve rellenos, I live by this motto- any privilege not expressly granted becomes liberty freely taken. Make this credo your own.   It is my privilege to liberally grant you that it is very freeing.

 

The spicy stuffed chiles were phenomenally tasty and very spicy.  The tuna/chili/cheese innards provided a creamy oasis in a sea of spicy poblano fieriness.  The ITP cautiously ate (and enjoyed) while I went all out and ate as much as I could.  Who knows, that farcical smoke alarm may just destroy all life as we know it.  I gotta get while the getting is good.

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Fish/seafood, strange chili and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tuna Chili Rellenos

  1. Bloody good read! I absolutely adore your writing style! Even though I’m a veggie, I think your stuffed peppers look absolutely delicious! I’ll have to pass this recipe on to my fish-loving family! Thank you for sharing.

What's on your mind?

