Chili Crab Quiche

Never underestimate the burdens a man will endure to protect his own self-interest.  Quiche (or egg pie for the less effete) offers a litmus test.  Are you willing to eat it or not?  With chili all is possible and all is good and this chili may possibly be good.  I, however, may be Peter Pan’s aunt for trying to bake it.

I view quiche as a metaphor for life.  It could be miserable or it could be outstanding, it depends on what you put into it.  (There is a clause about not burning down the house too, but I’ll get to that later.)

Ingredients:

1 prepared pie crust

3 eggs

1 T chili powder

½ t cumin

½ t onion salt

1/8 t powdered jalapeno

1 ½ C milk

1/3 C onions, diced

1 package (10 oz) frozen chopped spinach (thawed)

1 can (6 oz) crab meat, drained

1 C mini cheese cubes

1 T flour

 

Directions:

 

1) Bake pie crust at 450F for 10 minutes.

2) While crust bakes, beat together eggs and seasonings.

3) Mix in milk and the remaining ingredients.

4) After crust has cooked, pour chili mixture into crust and bake.*

 

* First I baked at 450F and then, in the middle of a hill work out, I realized that I needed a cooler temperature so I sprinted home only to be greeted by a smoke alarm and an unfriendly Mrs. Chili365.  I had scorched the crust, but the remainder of the stupid egg-pie thing appeared raw.  I proceeded to turn the temperature down to 350F and went back out running.  Pesterous thoughts of unintentional quiche-induced arson troubled my mind and I headed back home and proceeded to babysit the stupid pie-chili thing for what seemed like forever.

 

I can't believe I cut my run short for this.

I can’t believe I cut my run short for this.

Tasting Notes:

 

I cut a perfectly good training run short to for quiche- not once but twice.  How unmanly is that?

 

Every ITP member thought the chili tasted good.  Each finished his/her portion without a single complaint.  I’d agree, The Crab Chili Egg Pie tasted good but the whole ‘wrecking my run thing’ still has me pissed. It is in my best interest to get back out there and run.

 

 

This entry was posted in egg, Fish/seafood and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What's on your mind?

