Frying Pan Sausage and Bean Chili

Contrary to what my kids say, falling asleep the moment a TV is switched on is NOT my only superpower.  I can also hurl char-broiled sausage at phenomenal speed and with great accuracy.  As it is with most superheroes, I discovered my de facto, mega faculty quite by accident.  It was not until a good friend was screaming and writhing in pain somewhere in the 4 am darkness that I realized I had the sausage tossing gift.  I believe with all conviction that the flame desiccated bratwurst was never meant to be eaten.  No, no.  It was predestined for projectile greatness.  Forces beyond human comprehension implored me to drunkenly heave the burnt sausage in the general direction a buddy who was peeing somewhere in the pitch black wilderness.  A spilled beer, a contused kidney, and several minutes of bewilderment later, I knew I had something others can only envy.  I swore to myself that I’d use my tubesteak launching prowess only for the betterment of humankind.  Sadly, humanity appears to have little need for a humble guy who tosses a mean sausage.   Until the time is right, I guess I’ll just sit here and make chili.  Ho hum and day 335.

 

Ingredients:

 

14 oz ring sausage (sliced, not tossed)

½ C diced white onions

¼ C diced fresh jalapeno (deseeded)

1 T chili powder

1 t hot sauce

½ t coriander

½ t Italian seasoning

½ t onion powder

1 C Tomato sauce

1 T brown sugar

1 can (15.5 oz) chili flavored beans

 

Directions:

 

  1. Fry sausage, onion, pepper, and seasonings until the sausage is well browned.
  2. Add tomato sauce and sugar. Simmer for 10 minutes.
  3. Add chili beans and simmer 10 minutes longer.
  4. Serve over hashbrowns or noodles.

 

Frying Pan Sausage and Bean Chili

Frying Pan Sausage and Bean Chili

Tasting Notes:

 

Far from exotic, this simple and quick chili is standard and delicious.  The chili beans add a chili and bean presence that is most expected.  Not surprisingly, the onions and peppers taste much like onions and peppers.  It all works pretty well together and with the sausage too.  The ITP liked the chili, going so far as to praise it as ‘good’.  They then shuffled out of the kitchen, not one turning his/her back to me.  A short time later Mrs. Chili 365 quickly and quietly hid the left overs, lest I find reason to send them catapulting toward an ill-behaved, smart-assed child.

This entry was posted in bean, sausage and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Frying Pan Sausage and Bean Chili

    • spasture says:

      Thank you for the kind comment.

      It is a true story. To this day, no one will his back to me while there is sausage on the fire. They fear me.

      • No way?! At least I can say I know a super hero. Now that I know your true identity, I hope I don’t have to worry about my safety. Well, unless there’s a sausage cooking…

      • spasture says:

        Yes, it is best to keep me away from the campfire. I’ll tell you a secret. For me, TV is like kryptonite. When the tele turns on, I lose consciousness.

  1. A perfect recipe to show “Number 2” next time he’s over. I think I shall write it down and not pull it up on the computer, lest he get any ideas by seeing the commentary here! 🙂

    Number 2 always claims I once threw a bowl of Chili at him, a story that came up over Thanksgiving that I though you might appreciate. When he was about 8 we were making our way from stove to table with bowls of chili. He looked at his and said, “What the the H e double hockey sticks is this? I’m not eating this S*&**t!” In total shock, I snatched the bowl, tossed it on the floor and said, well, shouted, “No you’re not!” It was a quick reflex much regretted later – the smashed bowl, the dog eager to get at it and I found chili in the most amazing places, even months later…

    I still to this day, don’t know how/where he picked up such a phrase. He always praises my food now….

    • spasture says:

      Whoa, it is a good thing that nothing else happened to the floor.

      Regarding the bratwurst throwing, do you really feel that your son is capable of such sausage violence?

  2. He does love bratwurst, so perhaps not! Especially if it was a cheesy bratwurst. If it were the bratwurst’s lesser relative, the common hot dog…perhaps. I put nothing past him. He once had a tabasco fight with a friend in my living room I was not home, but was amazed that tabasco could shoot out with such velocity as to hit the ceiling.

What's on your mind?

