Chili Chicken Cabbage Unroll

 

 

The inability to learn from past mistakes (and subsequently adapt) has its consequence.  It precariously positions people to perpetrate perfectly preposterous performances.  A brief examination of the past two days’ chili gives me the most clear direction. Chili stuffing= bad. Chili with cabbage=good.  The result of stuffing cabbage with chili?  I’m not going to find out.  All previous indicators aside, the labor of stuffing cabbage isn’t something I’m willing to undertake. I’d rather drink beer and stir with a giant spoon.  Thus, I’ll take my chances with making cabbage chili as a one-pot.

Ingredients:

 

2 T bacon fat

1 lb boneless, skinless chicken breast cubed

2 T chili powder

1 T dried diced onion

1 t cumin

1 t Italian seasoning

½ t garlic salt

½ C diced white onion

¼ C diced jalapeno

4 C diced cabbage

¾ C sliced black olives

2/3 C cooked basmati rice

1 can (14.5 oz) diced tomatoes with green chilies

1 can (4 oz) diced green chilies

1 C tomato sauce

1 T lime juice

 

After reading this  I couldn't agree more.  Dante IS a hack.  I will admit, however, that I have no idea what hell actually looks like- though I am beginning to suspect it smells a lot like chili.

After reading this I couldn’t agree more. Dante IS a hack. I will admit, however, that I have no idea what hell actually looks like- though I am beginning to suspect it smells a lot like chili.

Directions:

 

  1. Fry chicken and seasoning in bacon fat until chicken is fully cooked.
  2. Add onion, jalapeno, cabbage and basmati and cook until the cabbage is somewhat wilted.
  3. Add remaining ingredients and simmer for one hour.

Nov29

Tasting Notes

Given the presence of diced green chilies, tomatoes with chilies, and jalapeno peppers, it is really no surprise that tonight’s iteration of the chili experiment ran hot- pretty damn hot.  Pre and The Pirate opted out after a couple of spoonfuls.  Chili Jr and Mrs. Chili365 hung in there and really enjoyed the chili.  I found the flavor to be fantastic.   On most occasions, I am not crazy about cooked cabbage.  Tonight, it worked and here’s why- It was spicy as hell.  I was not able to notice the squishy cabbage as my tongue was busy fighting off imminent scorching.  The tender, moist chicken also set the stage for an enjoyable meal.  Frying the white meat in seasoning did well to add interest and pizazz to the dish.   Though there was no stuffing in inherent to this meal, I ate enough to fill me well beyond satiety.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in chicken, vegetables and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Chili Chicken Cabbage Unroll

  1. hueyut says:

    Read the Family Circus for years. Don’t remember them weighing in on chili. 🙂

What's on your mind?

