Chili Fish Cakes

No need to tell me when I’ve lost the upper hand.  I’ll admit, they bested me last time. This time I beat the mackerel with an electric mixer and it was fantastic.

 

Day 221

 

 

Ingredients:

 

Mashed Potatoes:

2 large red potatoes

3 T butter

½ C half and half

 

The Rest:

1 can (15 oz) mackerel – partially drained

1 T chili powder

½ t garlic salt

2 t hot sauce

2 t lemon juice

1 egg

 

Vegetable oil

 

 

Directions:

  1. Microwave the potatoes until they are fully cooked.
  2. In a large bowl, mash the potatoes with butter and half and half until smooth.
  3. Add the rest of the ingredients (except the oil) and beat with an electric mixer.
  4. Form into hamburger sized patties.
  5. Fry in hot oil, turning once.
Chili Fish Cakes

Chili Fish Cakes

Tasting Notes:

 

On the subject of being bested ( and hands), Mrs. Chili365 is now (no jest) a paid hand model.  I can’t believe that I was one-upped on my life-long dream.   Indeed, these are troubled times at the Casa de Chili.

It should have been me.  It should have been me.  I'd have held the stupid cup and I HATE marshmallows.

It should have been me. It should have been me. I’d have held the stupid cup and I HATE marshmallows.

 

The fish cakes were light, fluffy, and tasted of spicy fish.  If this sort of thing, today’s recipe is for you.  Chili Jr and I enjoyed our chili (I with a heavy, jealous heart) while Pre and the Pirate said rude things about my cooking.

 

Hey, if you like voting for chili, vote for my chili chicken poutine (here) (poll is on the right side of the page). I’ll (metaphorically) send you a homemade beer (and maybe I’ll send a picture of my lovely hands).

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Fish/seafood, hybrid chili and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Chili Fish Cakes

  1. This sound kinda awesome and will be tried this weekend on buns with shredded cabbage and mustard sauce.

    • spasture says:

      What a terrific idea! You have made me hungry for slaw. Thank you for stopping by.

      • Hey, thank YOU for the weekend eats.

        I’m thinkin’ a cup of mayo and half a cup of prepared mustard or Dijon mustard with two tablespoons of honey should do the trick for the sauce. Buns lightly toasted, beer chilling.

        Is it Friday yet? Here, fishy, fishy.

What's on your mind?

