Chili Huevos Rancheros

Today’s 12 mile run through cold and snow was significant for two reasons 1) it was somewhere around mile 5 that I hatched the idea for Huevos  Rancheros 2) it was EXACTLY at mile 10 and a half that I spotted a greyhound wearing a kimono and, as a result, I seriously lost my mind.  Gathering myself, I ran the remaining one and a half miles home in a state of pure ecstasy.  I have always had a fondness for any dog donning an Elizabethan collar (yep, I loiter around veterinary clinics).  The sight of a canine sporting a Japanese robe exceeded any bliss I could have imagined.

I completely lost any train of thought.  Best to revisit the past in order to regain a sense of the present- day 320.  As of this morning, 46 chili recipes remained for the year.  Here is where we were at Day 46- Pork Heart Chili.

 

We’ve learned much this year- no more crazy farmers, no more Rick Astley and no more awful offal in the offing.

 

(Hey, like voting for stuff?-  Check out my chili at the Ranting Chef’s Diced! Chili Contest and cast you vote.)

 

Chili Part:

¼ C diced fresh jalapenos, deseeded

¾ C sliced black olives

1 ½ C canned diced tomato

1 T chili powder

1 t paprika

1 t garlic powder

1 C pinto beans

 

The Other Part:

Fried sliced ham (or Spam!)

Fried eggs

Corn tortillas

 

Directions:

  1. Fry jalapenos for about 3 minutes.
  2. Add remaining “chili ingredients” to the pot and simmer for 30 minutes.
  3. As the chili simmers, fry the eggs and fry the ham. Warm the tortillas.
  4. To serve, top tortillas with fried eggs and fried ham. Finish with a flourish by topping the whole thing with chili.
Chili Huevos Rancheros

Chili Huevos Rancheros

Tasting Notes:

 

A brunch consisting of Chili Huevos Rancheros and hot coffee is exactly what the doctor ordered after a long run in cold and snow.  The chili was hearty in flavor but not heavy on the palate.  The tomato, pepper, and chili flavors were crisp alongside the savory eggs, spam, and olives.  The Involuntary Tasters were pleased with this chili- far more pleased than they had been with the Heart Chili.  (The exception is Chili Jr, who liked both).  I found the chili to be very good- not as good as witnessing a greyhound wearing a kimono, but nonetheless enjoyable.

 

 

 

This entry was posted in breakfast, egg and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Chili Huevos Rancheros

  1. Greyhounds in kimonos? Obviously I didn’t realize what I signed up for….but it was the huevos rancheros, originally.

    • spasture says:

      I am not kidding- I saw a dog in a kimono tethered to its owner. I though (briefly) about dog knapping the majestic beast, but such violence would have sullied the moment.

      Man- I love running (and dogs in clothing).

      • My good fellow, might I suggest cooking the Ale longer in the chili to remove the alcohol content? But then there is the cold one that is being quaffed down to take the bite out of the sodium riddled Spam. Ah yes, men in tights and clothed animals….

      • spasture says:

        No dice on cooking the ale longer, I need the valuable carbs provided by “mother” ethanol.

        With regard to attire, the world is a Helter Skelter place.

  2. Sounds good, but I admit to a feeling of relief that you didn’t feel a need to mark the spot, so to speak.

What's on your mind?

