Fundraiser “Mostly Beef” Chili

308 consecutive days of chili and it is again time to foist my cuisine on the unsuspecting public. The money-toting populace may be willing to pay top dollar for an official bowl of chili365 goodness.  With any luck, the charity will let me know how things went and I’ll get a barometric reading for how well my cooking is received (on the in-case I want to sell off all my worldly belongings [my 5 pairs of running shoes excluded] and buy a food cart.)  No need to waste any time reading the tea leaves to determine how my family feels about my chili, after 44 weeks of daily chili. I believe they may be tiring of it.  To the point, today I noticed a substantially large bruise on my upper right arm.  This was a curiosity, as I wasn’t able to recall suffering any calamity that would have produced the purple-yellow discoloration, which was roughly the size of a sub sandwich.

I queried Mrs. Chili365, “Look at this contusion.  Are you beating me as I sleep?”

Her response was very telling, “No, stupid. Why would I beat you as you sleep?  I’d miss out on the fun of beating you while you are awake.”

Yikes. I hope this chili is good.  I fear getting the hose (again).

Ingredients:

2 lb ground beef

1 green pepper, chopped

1 yellow pepper, chopped

1 jalapeno pepper, deseeded and diced

1 ½ C vegetable juice

1 C tomato sauce

¼ C sweet and sour sauce

1 can (14.5 oz) Mexican Style Diced tomatoes

2 T chili powder

2 T dried diced onion

1 t chile para naranja (basically this is paprika with sugar and lemon)

½ t coriander

½ t garlic powder

 

Directions:

 

  1. Brown the ground beef and drain the fat.
  2. Stir in the remaining ingredients
  3. Transfer everything to a slow cooker and cook on low for eight hours.
Fundraiser “Mostly Beef” Chili

Fundraiser “Mostly Beef” Chili

 

Tasting Notes:

 

Looks like I will not be forced to sleep with one eye open tonight. The chili did quite well, selling out before noon and well before the other offerings.  If that fact hadn’t been encouraging enough, I was stopped in the street by a well-wisher who had many nice things to say about the fundraiser chili.  I played coy the entire time, pretending I hadn’t even tried it.  In truth, I had sampled the chili at 5:30 this morning.  It was pretty good.  I aimed for a chili mild enough to play nicely with the general public.  I also surmised that the consistency should be soupy enough so as not to raise any alarm.   This chili hit the bulls eye on both marks and was precocious enough (sweet/sour and Mexican seasoned tomatoes) to be playfully engaging.  Mrs. Chili 365, though she (fortuitously) doesn’t rise as early as I, also had (and much enjoyed) a sample of the Fundraiser Mostly Beef Chili.

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in ground beef, slow cooker and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fundraiser “Mostly Beef” Chili

  1. I would say this is a winner, winner chili dinner – I love the idea of the spicy/sweet/sour/tangy deliciousness. The Chile para Naranja didn’t slip by me, either. Inspired. And congrats on your success at the fundraiser, although I don’t think you should get too big of a head as our Diced Chili cook off is coming up, young Grasshopper.

What's on your mind?

