Break-in Two Hot Chili

Ostensibly, it hadn’t changed position in 6 years. For sure the refrigerator had itself been moved, but many of its contents, including the tincture of pure capsaicin, remained fixed in place, as if riveted fast by some unknown prankster.   Capsaicin is the chemical that gives hot peppers their heat and there is nothing in Pure Cap Hot Sauce but pure capsaicin and vegetable oil (to stabilize this volatile compound).  After 6 long years I had a hankering to put some in my chili and all I needed to do was rescue it.   It had been 4 years since I ceased working at the place in which the sauce had long ago been entombed.  I moved on to bigger and better things, but man, how could I have left that little bottle of dynamite behind?

I decided to bring Pre (my 11-year old) along, in case I encountered any trouble. After running 3 miles, we arrived under the cover of broad daylight.  After sneaking around to the back of the building, I gained access through a seldom used door and up the stairs we crept.  Footsteps and voices rang out in the near distance.  To pull this off we’d have to become apparitions, spectral hauntings of a break room from a bygone era.  I looked over at Pre.  A silent acceptance passed between us. There was no turning back now.  Years earlier a good friend in Texas signed a waiver of liability and forked over 7 bucks just to snag me that special sauce. Nothing gets me sentimental or turns me into a trespassing lunatic quite like chili.  We wouldn’t stop until the sauce was back where it belonged- my fridge.

 

Ingredients:

 

1 lb ground beef

1 C vegetable juice

1 C tomato sauce

1 C hominy

½ C spicy pickled carrots

2 drops Pure Cap hot sauce

2 T chipotle salsa

1 t chili powder

1 T peanut butter

1 T brown sugar

1 t garlic powder

1 t paprika

 

Directions:

  1. Brown ground beef and drain fat.
  2. Add remaining ingredients and simmer for 45 minutes.

 

 

Tasting Notes:

 

A word about the peanut butter and sugar: I used these to push the heat to the back-end of the flavor profile. It worked.  Up front there is a tangy peanut and tomato flavor which finishes with a hot zip of two sauces- the Cap and the Chipotle.  Surprisingly, my chili had found a really nice balance, as both Mrs. Chili and Chili Jr were each able to down a full bowl without too much discomfort.  (i.e. it wasn’t too hot.) All in all, I liked this chili not only for its adrenaline pumping pre-preparation but it tasted damn good too.

 

Pure Cap lurking like a crazy assassin among the festering past-date condiments.

Pure Cap lurking like a crazy assassin among the festering past-date condiments.

Scary escape route

Scary escape route

Break-in Two Hot Chili

Break-in Two Hot Chili

 

 

This entry was posted in ground beef and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What's on your mind?

