Chili Stuffed Mushrooms

I did not drink the moonshine. It laid waiting in the tall grass, perched like a Halloween ghoul, replete with sharp teeth and halitosis.  I had nearly tripped over the spectral glass vessel on my jaunty rounds between bonfire and beer stack (no need for a cooler at 30 degrees Fahrenheit). As the night wore on and my steps grew increasingly jagged, the bootleg hooch beckoned with increasing seduction.  Indifferent to the booze’s wanton provocation, I went into the house to see if my girl was still there.  Not finding her, I was greeted by a festive tray piled with “pity poppers”.   The basis for the appetizer’s charmingly self-deprecating sobriquet was far more apparent last night during my euphoric inebriation.  Nonetheless, my winsome neighbor’s stuffed jalapenos were a smashing success.  The experience set me to planning to stuff something…..with chili.

 

Ingredients:

1 T butter

10 oz raw white mushrooms

3 T finely diced sweet red pepper

2 T finely diced yellow pepper

3 cloves garlic, smashed

2 T finely diced white onion

1 T chili powder

½ t paprika

½ t cumin

1/3 C coarsely ground pretzels

1/3 C cubed cheese (mixture of cheddar, Swiss, and pepper jack)

 

Directions:

 

  1. Remove the stems from the mushrooms.
  2. Dice the stems and sauté them in butter along with peppers, garlic, onion, and spices- about 5 minutes.
  3. Add pretzels and cheese, sauté for 3 minutes.
  4. Place inverted mushrooms caps onto a baking sheet.
  5. Scoop the sautéed mixture into mushroom caps and bake for 10 minutes at 425.
Chili Stuffed Mushrooms

Chili Stuffed Mushrooms

Tasting Notes:

 

It doesn’t happen often, but the Involuntary Taste Panel offered up some sincere compliments. Mrs. Chili365, The Pirate, and Chili Jr absolutely loved the chili stuffed mushrooms.  I found them to be quite tasty- a zesty appetizer with a wealth of cheese, pepper, and chili flavor.  The notes of onion and garlic were welcomed and earthy.  Chili is almost exclusively considered a main course.  It is refreshing to see it make a splash as finger food.

Thank you Frugal Hausfrau for providing the revelation.

 

Oh yeah, the Pity Poppers took a selfie:

Pity Poppers.  Amazingly delicious.

Pity Poppers. Amazingly delicious.

 

This entry was posted in appetizer, mushroom and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Chili Stuffed Mushrooms

  1. 🙂 So different than anything I would have guessed – and your story, so funny! The pretzels have to be the kicker here!

    I must say I’m glad your Involuntary Tasting Panel enjoyed these…I had a momentary fear of being a party, in any small way, to the invention of a Chili stuffed mushroom – visions, perhaps, of being hunted down for for such a thing being inflicted upon the IVP. Especially that Pre. Of course, tell him I’m only kidding.

    You went way beyond all expectation – I can see more inventiveness in my own future! Your wild abandon has made me feel a bit stodgy!

    • spasture says:

      Thank you immensely for providing the template for the awesome appetizer. The pretzels were a desperate move by a desperate man. In the end, it all worked out.
      Don’t worry about a thing, any blame for the chili experiment squarely falls on my shoulders. No one else can take the rap (or wrath) but me.
      It is always a joy to see what you’ve come up with. I am looking forward to seeing what is next.

  2. 🙂 I feel the same way about your blog – I’ve already shared it with several friends and family members!

What's on your mind?

