Chili Mulligatawny

My daughter is very smart, possibly a result of her hard work or potentially due to some good genetics (the intelligence genes would have to come from Mom, of course). Pirate’s power of reasoning is regularly on full display.   Her most recent exhibition of intellect was her decision to NOT eat chili today.  After all, it is her birthday, I guess I can let her slide today.  The 9th anniversary of the Pirate’s arrival does not, however get me off the hook.  I decided to make mulligatawny chili in between spurts of house cleaning.   We really need to jettison many seldom-used items and I need to wrap my head around the truth that objects are not themselves happiness just pale representations.  Happiness is operator-dependent and it can only come from inside (especially when you have chili on your insides.)   Traditional mulligatawny has its origins in India. With this in mind, I based the broth in some traditional Indian seasonings (and chili).  Many recipes call for the addition of an apple.  I didn’t do that- it’s just too weird.

Ingredients:

1 lb boneless, skinless chicken breast, diced

2 C chopped carrot

1 1/3 C chopped onion

3 C water

1 T chicken bullion

1 T Chili Powder

1 t coriander

1 t cumin

½ t tarragon leaves

7 pods cardamom

1 t hot sauce

½ C basmati rice

Shredded coconut

Directions:  

  1. Simmer everything except the rice and coconut for 30 minutes.
  2. Add rice and simmer for 15 minutes.
  3. To serve, place chili in a bowl and top with shredded coconut.
Chili Mulligatawny

Chili Mulligatawny

Tasting Notes:   Heard from the kitchen, “AHHHHHH, what the hell did you put in here?” I raced to the kitchen only to find Mrs. Chili365 spitting out a cardamom pod. I had forgotten to tell her NOT to eat them. Silly me.  Sadly, this is not the only faux pas I pulled off today.  In cleaning the house, Mrs. Chili365 managed to find an ultrasound picture of one of our sons.  I quickly managed to spill chili on it.  There must be some sort of Freudian message in that act but I can’t for the life of me figure out what.   The chili mulligatawny was delicious. It is a soup that stayed true it its Indian roots while jazzing it up- the chili way.  Adding the coconut shreds was a nice touch to this well-balanced and satisfying meal.    

This entry was posted in chicken, Mash-up and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Chili Mulligatawny

  1. hueyut says:

    Happy Birthday Pirate!

What's on your mind?

