Chili Beer Cheese Soup

In the parlance of professional bowlers, 300 is perfect. No offense to Mrs. Chili365’s uncle, who is a professional bowler (or at least looks the part), but 300 isn’t perfect- yet.  300 is, no doubt, a vast number of chili recipes by anyone’s standards.  Here we are at day 300.

For anyone considering doing anything monumentally stupid I have some sage advice.   The decisions you make today may profoundly affect you in the future (even 300 days into the future).   Before proceeding with whatever harebrained scheme you’ve concocted,  pause for a moment and consider heeding that little voice that says “Don’t”.

I didn’t and tonight we are having Beer Cheese Soup Chili.

I’ll share that recipe in a moment, but first in reluctant celebration of our “300 game”, here is a haphazard and incomplete list of some of this year’s better “chili makeover” recipes (i.e., traditional recipes which we forced into indentured chili servitude):

Chili Chicken and Asparagus Lo mein

BLT chili pizza

Double Chocolate chili cookie

Thai me up chicken and sausage chili

Makeover chili Taco pizza

Crazy Chicken Chili Chips

Chili Cheeseburger pie

Chili Reubens

Chili Lettuce and Tomato (CLT)

Chicago Dog Chili

Jambalaya Chili

 

Ingredients:

1 T butter

1 C carrots, diced

1/4 C green onion, diced

1 jalapeno, seeded and diced

1 C water

1 C beer (we used an amber lager

1 t chicken buillion

2 t chili powder

1 t paprika

1/4 C flour

1 1/2 C milk

5 oz cheese (in small cubes)

 

on the side : Popcorn)

 

Directions:

1) Fry the carrots, onion, and jalapeno in butter for about 3 minutes.

2) Add seasonings, bullion, water, and beer.

3) Boil for 5 minutes.

4) Whisk in flour, mild, and cheese heating until the soup becomes thick and bubbly.

5) Serve with popcorn.

 

Chili Beer Cheese Soup

Chili Beer Cheese Soup

 

 

 

Tasting Notes:

 

I burned the hell out of two batches of popcorn, but the third batch turned out okay.  Looks like a good thing that this isn’t popcorn365.  In truth, my grandfather would be embarrassed by my lack of popcorn proficiency, as he is a something of a corn popping virtuoso.  Sorry, Grandpa- I’m going to stick to chili.  Goodness knows chili sticks to me.

 

Mrs. Chili365 self-identifies as a beer cheese soup hater.  I am pleased to report she liked my chili-infused rending (and the non-burnt popcorn).  Chili Jr was concerned that his bowl of chili may contain alcohol.  I assuaged his fears by letting him know that if the chili did in fact have booze, I would eat 6 bowls of it.

The 300th recipe was a big success.  Not surprisingly, the chili flavor melded nicely with the beer and cheese flavors.  Truly a delicious soup and far less daunting than a 7-10 split.

 

This entry was posted in beer, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Chili Beer Cheese Soup

  1. hueyut says:

    Congrats on your 300th day of chili. WOW

  2. Again, you had me in stitches! When Number 2, as I call my second child, who is somewhat of a stinker, at the ripe age of about 14 tried one of my assortment of chocolate truffles (flavored with different alcohols, not beer, unfortunately) he didn’t seem to like them. I said, “Oh, it’s probably the alcohol in them.” He grabbed a handful and immediately stuffed several in his mouth…

    Contrast this with your child’s concern. *sighs* Had I been smart, at that point, I would have put my collection of booze and wine into a gun safe with a chain around it in a booby trapped room with an iron door and a bunch of deadlocks. Hindsight is 20/20.

What's on your mind?

