Grilled Chili Shrimp

Typing left-handed is no fun. My 8 mile trail run culminated in a viciously bad fall.  In truth, as I was flailing through the air, a hopeless patsy to the awe-inspiring power of fucking gravity, I had a choice to make- land on knee or land on shoulder.  My split-second decision was “shoulder.”  I drove the upper right side of my body into the rock-hard earth with extra flair- just so my knee would appreciate my painful sacrifice.  (Distance runners are superstitious and will go to great lengths to curry favor with some of their more onerous body parts).

As I can no longer move my right arm, I asked the Pirate to help me de-vain the shrimp for tonight’s chili.  At first, it was a tough sell, then I found the proper spin.  “Hey Pirate, please help Dad with supper.  There is a good chance that you’ll painfully lance yourself with a very sharp knife.”  Within 20 seconds, I had the assistance I needed.  Go figure- she’s a chip off the old block.

 

Ingredients:

2 T sesame oil

2 t lemon juice

3 cloves garlic, smashed

1 T chili powder

1/3 t celery salt

1/3 t black pepper

1 lb shrimp, raw and shell-on (and deveined by a determined 8-year old)

 

Directions:

 

  1. In a 1 quart zip lock bag, mix the lemon juice, oil, seasonings, and garlic.
  2. Add shrimp to bag and mix well.
  3. Store in the fridge for 3 hours.
  4. Grill over hot coals, about 2 minutes per side.
  5. Serve with spinach and rice.

 

 

Grilled Chili Shrimp

Grilled Chili Shrimp

Tasting Notes:

 

If you’re worried about my shoulder, DON’T- it looks like raw hamburger, but that’s okay, I’m drinking my way through it.  If you were concerned about our supper, NO NEED- we strayed a bit from burgers and chops but I totally drank my way through it.  Finally, if you panicked over the 8 year-old wielding a sharp blade, I can assuage your fears- she only cut herself once.

 

My arm is hurting like hell, so here is the crux- the chili grilled shrimp were incredible.  Mild, but in a spicy sort of way.  Ratchet up the heat with 1 t of hot sauce in the marinade, if you’d like.  The shrimp lasted less than 2 minutes on our table.  (It’d have been less, had I had faculty of my right arm.  I lost out.)  Seriously.Good.Food.

 

 

This entry was posted in Fish/seafood, Grilled and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What's on your mind?

