Chili Chicken Pot Pie

Beset by unabating nagging, Chili Mocktober rolls on- in spite of itself. Pre wants me arrested for chili abuse, Chili Jr fancies me “Gaseous Clay” (floats like a butterfly smells like a latrine), and The Pirate is “sure” she knows why chili is never featured in children’s fairy tales. Mrs. Chili365 is worried that the chili experiment is eating into the time I should be using to execute more important tasks.  Her concerns may be well founded.  I can’t remember when I last shaved, but I think I showered on….Wednesday….I think.

 

Words from the Champ (or Chump. Categorization is subjective):

Around is not where I clown

I’ll turn their frown upside down-

You want delicious? I’m the guy.

Everyone loves chili chicken pot pie.

 

Ingredients:

 

1lb boneless skinless chicken breast, cubed

1 T chili powder

1 t cumin

1 t paprika

1 t onion powder

2 C (formerly) frozen peas and carrots, thawed

1 can Progresso brand creamy roasted garlic cooking sauce

¼ C flour

2 pie crusts (straight from your grocer’s refrigerator)

 

Directions:

 

  1. Fry chicken and spices until chicken is fully cooked.
  2. Add thawed vegetables, cooking sauce, and flour.
  3. Simmer for 5 minutes.
  4. Place the bottom pie crust in a 9 inch ungreased glass pie pan.
  5. Spoon on the chili.
  6. Top with the second pie crust.
  7. Bake in a preheated oven at 425 F for 35 minutes.
  8. Allow to cool for 20 minutes.
  9. Serve.

 

Chili Chicken Pot Pie

Chili Chicken Pot Pie

Tasting Notes:

 

Pre: The best chili you have made.  It is the only chili of which I’ve actually wanted another helping.

 

Chili Jr.: I’m hooked.  Totally.  Hopelessly. Hooked.

 

The Chili Chicken Pot Pie was rich, zesty, and satisfying.  In a word- INCREDIBLE.  I’m dreaming about having more right now.  It isn’t exactly health food, but I could easily eat this twice, maybe three times, a week.  With the shortcut sauce and pre-made crust it is a snap to make and it is an undisputed winner.

 

 

This entry was posted in chicken and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What's on your mind?

