Widow Maker Fiery Sweet Sour Chili

The blazing fire of 3 jalapenos zapped with the sweetness of pineapple and the tang of red wine vinegar is  cacophony brought to harmony in a foundation of spaghetti sauce (of all things).  If this chili kills me, I’ll die a happy (albeit pyrolyzed) man.

Today I craved serious heat. Something to burn off the creosote- no doubt in preparation for the compulsory seasonal onslaught of pumpkin flavored food and drink.  (Is there anything that hasn’t become contaminated with pumpkin?  In all seriousness, we have a pound of pumpkin marshmallows haunting our kitchen table.)   Back on the point, heat for heat’s sake is fine, but I don’t want to spend an hour with my face in a tub of ice.  (Funny story, I once drank too many Pig’s Eyes and ended up eating half a bottle of the aptly named Ass in the Tub Hot Sauce.   It literally felt like I had eaten a flaming and syphilitic porcupine and washed it down with glacial acetic acid.  Ya, I suffered for quite a while, not to mention nearly drowning in a tub of ice.)

 

Ingredients:

 

1 T bacon fat

1 C diced white onions

1 C deseeded and diced fresh jalapenos (about 3)

1 T chili powder

1 t cumin

1 t paprika

1 t Garlic powder

½ C spaghetti sauce

1 ½ C cooked pork, cubed

¾ C pineapple juice (this is the volume of juice from a 20 oz can of pineapple rings)

1 T brown sugar

1 T red wine vinegar

1 C pineapple cut into chunks

 

Directions:

 

  1. In bacon fat, fry onions, jalapenos, chili powder, cumin, paprika, and garlic powder until the onions become fragrant (about 5 minutes).
  2. Add remaining ingredients (except pineapple chunks) and simmer for 45 minutes.
  3. Add pineapple chunks and simmer for 15 minutes.
  4. Serve over cooked rice or spaghetti noodles.

 

Widow Maker Fiery Sweet Sour Chili.  I want this photo on my toe-tag.

Widow Maker Fiery Sweet Sour Chili. I want this photo on my toe-tag.

Tasting Notes:

 

Today’s chili uses the last of the leftover pork roast. I am going to miss that roast with all of my heart.

The ITP picked at this chili and deemed it “good” but labeled it “very spicy”. Their lack of chili appetite is a boon for me.  I absolutely loved this chili.  I was thinking that it was easily in the top 10% of the chili of made this year.   This is silly, as I’ve made 281 chilis, which would mean that the Widow Maker Fiery Sweet and Sour would make the top 28.  Even top 5% (in the best 14) would seem too modest for this chili.  I know it is in top 5 overall.  It had all the elements in place and fired on each cylinder.  Totally fiery, engagingly sweet, and slyly sour- it brings the boom. Every so often I hatch a chili of this majesty, which lends credence to the adage- “even a blind nut finds a squirrel once in a while.”

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in pork and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What's on your mind?

