Jalapeno Chili Pancakes

Body is Temple

Monument to self-abuse

Carefully Crafted

 

I skipped out on running a marathon today. Instead, I will be drinking with some friends in the remote wildness.  Have I completely missed today’s opportunity for a long run?  Hardly.  Matters of safety may force me to sprint dozens of miles.  Indeed, given the backwater locale of the soiree, there is a likelihood that “Dueling Banjoes” may suddenly be heard from somewhere off in the tree-infested distance. (Sweating, Shivers, Shaking)

I’ll be lacing up my racing flats.

 

Ingredients:

 

Dry:

1 C cornmeal

1 C flour

½ T baking powder

¼ t baking soda

½ t salt

1 T chili powder

 

Wet:

1 ½ C milk

½ t hot sauce

1 jalapeno, diced

4 T of butter, melted

¼ C molasses

2 eggs, beaten

 

Directions:

 

  1. In a bowl, mix the dry ingredients.
  2. In a different bowl, mix the wet ingredients.
  3. Combine the wet and dry ingredients and (lo and behold) mix.
  4. Drop by ¼ C measure onto a hot skillet.
  5. Cook until bubbly, flip and cook until set.
  6. Serve with a side of salsa.
Jalapeno Chili Pancakes.  The sun's coming up.  I got cakes on the griddle.

Jalapeno Chili Pancakes. The sun’s coming up. I got cakes on the griddle.

 

Tasting Notes:

We need to hit the road early, necessitating the chili for breakfast. Who’d have thought this recipe would deliver ants?  I spill a little molasses and there they are like a mountain man.

 

The junior ITP members were hesitant to eat chili at this early hour. Since The Pirate has a race today, I caved and made chocolate chip and banana pancakes. Mrs. Chili365, a lovingly but fussy soul who only appreciates sweet cornbread, did not care for the chili cornbread pancakes. I liked them, but in the interests on remaining light and unencumbered by extra weight, I didn’t eat too many.  I just need to outrun my buddies, right?

This entry was posted in breakfast and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What's on your mind?

