A Two Z Chili

If making chili every day for a year is an exercise in stupidity, then I’m getting a world-class workout. I no longer dream up the recipes, I simply wait for my daily neurological disaster.  With 266 days tallied, 99 recipes remain.  Today’s cognitive meltdown is chili with Artichoke, Zucchini, and Ziti.

 

Ingredients:

1 Can Artichoke Hearts (don’t drain, use the liquid in this recipe)

2 C zucchini, cut into matchsticks

1 ½ C canned crushed tomato

1 C tomato sauce

1 T chili powder

1 T dried onion flakes

1 t red pepper flakes

1 t garlic salt

8 oz ziti* cooked

1/3 C parmesan cheese

 

Directions:

 

  1. Add everything, except the noodles and cheese, to a pot and mix well.
  2. Simmer for 25 minutes.
  3. Add cooked ziti* and parmesan.
  4. Mix well and simmer for 5 additional minutes.

 

 

A Two Z Chili  Now with PENNE!

A Two Z Chili
Now with PENNE!

 

 

 

Tasting Notes:

 

* I used penne, not ziti. I searched the grocer’s for ziti and came up with nil.  When I realized that this would imperil my cutesy “A two Z” recipe name, it literally staggered me.  I stumbled around the store as if I had just been sucker punched.  After landing somewhere near the frozen cod, I recovered just long enough to purchase a bag of penne.  You’ll notice, however, that Penne begins with “P” and not “Z” though the Penne and Ziti are virtually the same shape and for all intents and purposes, the identical pasta.  What’s the difference you say, P or Z, it shouldn’t matter.  Here is the difference- letters, alphabet, words- together it all means something.  Right now it means that I’m pretty PIZZED OFF.  Stupid pasta and all its weird shapes.

 

For all the fuss, the chili was quite good. The red pepper flakes cranked up the heat index to moderately hot.  You’ll want to tone down the amount of flakes if you’re of the milder-palate persuasion. The artichokes and zucchini in spicy sauce fared well against the firm pasta.  The ITP was impressed with both flavor and presentation.  They failed to notice, or at least resisted the urge to comment on, the penne/ziti kerfuffle.

 

Table Talk:

Pre, clearly not realizing that the dish contained actual vegetables (and the wrong pasta…have I mentioned that?): “This chili is really good but WOW is it spicy.”

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in vegetables and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Two Z Chili

  1. essbee14 says:

    I adore spicy – I’m definitely sprinkling some red pepper flakes up in my next batch! Good luck with the remaining 99. You got this 🙂

  2. Daily neurological disaster – genius!! Recipe sounds good!

What's on your mind?

