Non-Suffering Succotash Chili

Let’s dispel any misconceptions right now. Lima beans are weird.  You should not eat them.  You should not eat them unless you have a good reason. You should not eat them unless you have a good reason, like, say, a favorite aunt owns a lima bean factory or something.  Me, I’m all about ending the suffering.  (Can I get a high-five Sylvester?)  I’m all about substituting the pintos for the limas.

 

Ingredients:

 

1 1/3 C cooked pintos

1 C fresh, uncooked corn

1 ½ C tomatillos, diced

1 T chili powder

1 t paprika

1 t cumin

1 t garlic powder

¼ C El Pato Brand jalapeno salsa

2/3 C vegetable juice

 

Directions:

 

  1. Add ingredients to a pots and simmer for 1 hour.
  2. Serve with rice and leftover Chinese food.

 

I thought I saw a puddee tat.   Non-Suffering Succotash

I thought I saw a puddee tat.
Non-Suffering Succotash

 

Tasting Notes:

 

Today as I biked home from work, I smelled bacon. Someone was cooking bacon at 4 in the afternoon.  This was a stroke of genius- this cooking bacon in the afternoon.  As I pedaled away from the “bacon house”, the delicious aroma of bacon lingered, and lingered, annnnnd lingered.  I could clearly smell the bacon half a mile away.  I’m not part-bloodhound of anything.   It isn’t a question of sensitivity, it’s a question of mass.  Whoever was makin’ the bacon was making a whole hell of a lot of the bacon.

 

No bacon in the succotash. No bacon, no matter- I’m not suffering.  I’m not suffering owed, in large part, to the absence of lima beans in this dish.  The non-suffering succotash chili was delicious.  Jalapeno salsa and tomatillos harmonized nicely around a bean and corn backbeat.  The corn’s natural sweetness played foil to the heroically spicy salsa.  This chili was a winner and not Lima bean or ITP were harmed in the process.

 

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in bean, vegetables and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Non-Suffering Succotash Chili

What's on your mind?

