Chocolate Chicken Chili

I was holding one of our hens and whispering sweet nothings in her ear when I first noticed it.  There, shining like a fetid breastplate for the entire world to see, was a large brown splatter- on my Brand New marathon shirt nonetheless.  It wasn’t readily apparent whether the chicken had “left me a little present” on my fetching navy blue tech shirt or if the unsightly splatter was, in fact, merely residue left over from my snack of sultry mocha chocolate chili sauce and graham crackers.  Either way, my outfit was obviously besmirched and need of a laundering.  As I went inside to pretreat the stain, it hit me- chocolate chicken chili.  Amazing how inspiration can sometimes just plop right on you.

 

Ingredients:

 

1 T vegetable oil

1 C diced white onion

3 cloves garlic, smashed

1 lb boneless skinless chicken breast, cubed

2 Pasilla chili, rehydrated and diced fine (about 1/3 C)

2 T chili powder

1 t Worcestershire sauce

2 ¼ oz Baker’s chocolate

2 t hot sauce

½ T brown sugar

 

 

Directions:

 

  1. Fry the onions, garlic and chicken in oil until the chicken is medium rare.
  2. Add remaining ingredients and simmer 1- 1.5 hours.
  3. If tacos are your thing, serve on corn tortillas topped with lettuce.

 

Tasting Notes:

 

Words/phrases spoken during the meal:

–  This is pretty okay.

– May I cut the cheese?

-This chili is bitter, I wanted more chocolate flavor.

– I should have added more sugar.

– I don’t like mole’, why did you make this?

– The chicken is good, but not the broth.

– Boy, am I glad that I didn’t lose the check for my violin rental.

 

Chocolate Chicken Chili

Chocolate Chicken Chili

Looks like we don’t have a big winner here.  The chili is passable but it would have fared better with chicken broth and more sugar.  Extra hot sauce is always a safe bet.  Perhaps from now on, I’ll skip on making the chocolate chicken chili and devote some time to reading the children’s classic Max and the Chocolate Chicken by Rosemary Wells.

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in chicken and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Chocolate Chicken Chili

  1. Nice creation 🙂 😀

What's on your mind?

