No Tell Ro*tel Chicken Chili

It’s no real secret that we are keeping a secret from our pet chickens.   The gnawing reticence surrounding the reality that we eat chickens is beginning to devour my conscience.  To be clear, we do not eat the pet chickens, not even those given to foul-fowl behavior.  Even our cantankerous foster hen, Opal (I have changed her name in order to protect her identity), did not end up on a dinner plate.  Good old Opal had some interesting ideas regarding inter-chicken relations.  She seemed to tolerate the other Australorps but had no patience for her coop-mates of different breed.  Opal’s incessant aggression toward the other chickens was a source of constant vexation.  Perhaps I was idly daydreaming about her demise as I grocery shopped last week.  I am not sure how else to explain the 9 pounds of chicken leg quarters that now occupy a disproportionately large portion of our freezer.

 

 

Ingredients:

3 chicken leg quarters (about 2 pounds)

1 C diced onion

3 cloves garlic, smashed

2 T chili powder

1 t paprika

1 t celery salt

1 C diced fresh tomato (I used heirloom tomatoes from the garden)

1 can (10 oz) Ro-tel diced tomatoes with chilies

¾ C diced green peppers

 

 

Cooked noodles

 

Directions:

 

  1. Fry chicken in a pot turning frequently until mostly cooked.
  2. Remove chicken from pot and allow it to cool.
  3. To the chicken fat remaining in the pot, add the onion, garlic, and spices.
  4. Simmer until onions become soft.
  5. Add tomatoes and Ro-tel tomatoes, and simmer on low while you remove the meat from the chicken bones.
  6. Once you have successfully deboned the leg quarters, add the meat to the pot.
  7. Simmer for 45 minutes.
  8. Add green peppers and simmer for 5 minutes (I like the green peppers tender-crisp.)
  9. Serve over cooked linguini.

 

No Tell Ro-tel Chicken Chili

No Tell Ro-tel Chicken Chili

"Hi.  My name is Opal.  Just thinking about 'chicken eugenics' makes me tingly."

“Hi. My name is Opal. Just thinking about ‘chicken eugenics’ makes me tingly.”

Tasting Notes:

 

I have cooked and written about chili for 240 consecutive days and today marks my first use of Ro-tel tomatoes and chilies.  What the heck is wrong with me?  Maybe I am so busy hiding my chicken eating ways from my wayward chickens that I am slightly checked out of reality.    Whatever.  This chili was good.  Chili Jr and Pre were strong proponents of this dish and between them, polished off most of it.  I found the chili delicious but found the process of removing the chicken meat from the bones annoying and slightly unnerving.  I can tell you that I won’t be chatting up the process to the backyard hens.  I think the Ro-tel was the real star of the show and there is no telling how many more of my chilis will be rife with Ro-tel.

 

 

This entry was posted in chicken and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to No Tell Ro*tel Chicken Chili

  1. Cute! And by the way, even those of us (meaning me, of course – 🙂 Hey, I promised trash talking prior to our Diced Chili Cook Off on the Ranting Chef) who make the best chili in the world…have a few cans of Rotel (or a knock off) in the pantry for chicken chili. And I make mine a lot like this but with no green peppers, but after the chicken is in, the Rotel all softened up, I add a bit of cornstarch slurry to thicken it. Then it tops bean burritos.

    • spasture says:

      The recipe sounds terrific. Have you tried egg as a thickener?

      When does the contest start? Next week? Are you nervous? By the way, you may make a good bowl of chili, but I have experience on you!

      • Yeah, you do have experience – probably more than anyone I’ve ever heard of! I’m enjoying your blog so much, I wonder what you’ll do next!

        And no, haven’t tried egg as a thickener. Just flour, cornstarch and once on a Paleo kick I tried arrowroot.

        I think it is next week…

What's on your mind?

