Standard Elk Chili

Large milestones are worth recognizing but it’s the small rocks that are trod underfoot en route to achievement that need greater recognition.  This I think as I launch into the last hill repeat, stomach in full revolt and hamstring screaming an angry dissertation of hatred.   As the merciless ascent continues, I’m petitioning the gravel beneath my feet- “give me strength, give me wisdom, give me a finish.”   Training “rocks” (this, sadly, being an unfortunate platitude).

 

 I’ll stop short of drawing any iron-clad analogies between marathon training and the yearlong chili project.  Plainly, they both require a standard measure of persistence.    Day 226

 

 

Ingredients:

1T olive oil

1 lb elk stew meat

2 T chili powder

½ T garlic powder

½ T onion powder

½ t celery salt

½ t cumin

1 can (14oz) diced tomatoes

1 can (4oz) green chilies

1 C vegetable juice

1 can (15 oz) pinto beans-drained

1 T corn meal

 

Directions;

 

  1. Fry the meat and seasonings in oil for 5 minutes.
  2. Add tomatoes, chilies, and juice.  Simmer for 45 minutes.
  3. Add beans and corn meal.  Simmer for 15 minutes.

 

 

 

Standard Elk Chili

Standard Elk Chili

Tasting Notes:

 

The flavor and texture of the stew was top notch, with a spicy flair complementing a silky, tomato base.  The beans were a lively, well-proportioned addition to the standard elk chili.  The sole failing of the dish was the meat.  The elk had a generally chewy finish.  Consensus was that it had a jerky-like texture.  This did little to put me off, as I have been seeking a good “jaw workout”.  Seriously, how bad can a combination of smooth chili and elk jerky actually be?  Some of the ITP were not amused by my voicing this rhetorical.   I think that had I simmered everything longer, we’d have had a tenderer product.  Live and learn.  The chili project isn’t a sprint, it’s a marathon.  (Okay, I didn’t exactly use an analogy, but a metaphor).

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in traditional chili, wild game and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What's on your mind?

