Chippy Chipotle Chili Chicken Legs

The annual trip to the well-appointed domicile outside a resort town somewhere south of the permafrost line represents the fulcrum of summer events.  Viewing this outing in the context of past holidays or any future forays would be an exercise in misery.   Events are unique and in order to enjoy them with any measure of zeal, they must only be held to their own account, not laboriously tethered to expectations endowed by past experience or conjectures for an uncertain future.   This epiphany struck hard as I ran the mud path past swollen streams alongside a chain of lakes and through the sheeting rain.  Generally, I’d have watched my feet so as to avoid the burgeoning puddles, but today I did not want to miss experiencing the entirety of my surroundings.  My feet were to become soaked anyhow, I might as well enjoy the view without regarding the mundane drenching as truly germane to my enjoyment of the running experience.

Soon after a hot shower, it occurred to me that I must climb outside of my mind (and the warm, dry structure) to grill some chippy chipotle chili chicken legs.

 

Ingredients:

 

(2) packs of Weber Chipotle Grilling seasoning (1.2 oz each)

1 T chili powder

1 t paprika

¼ C olive oil

¼ C beer (I used a homemade Red Kolsh)

3 lbs chicken legs

 

Directions:

 

  1. In a resealable bag, mix chipotle seasoning, chili powder, paprika, olive oil, and beer.
  2. Add chicken legs and knead to mix well.
  3. Incubate 20 minutes at room temperature.
  4. Grill on a charcoal fire until chicken legs are cooked through.

 

 

 

 

Chippy Chipotle Chili Chicken Legs

Chippy Chipotle Chili Chicken Legs

Chippy Chipotle Chili Chicken Legsb

Who is stealing my stuff?

 

Tasting Notes:

 

In my experience, this is the most outstanding chicken leg-meat marinade I have used.  The flavor is formidably picante-chili and, as such, it is unrepentantly zesty.  The ITP and guest ITP enjoyed the meal and, in response, offered warm pleasantries.  It is all good.  Having a warm charcoal fire before me, I methodically fashioned a bunch of s’mores.  This being what the moment held,  I gladly seized it.

This entry was posted in chicken, Grilled and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What's on your mind?

