Just Gravy Pork Loin Chili

Last’s night’s grilled chili mackerel was a success… until this morning.  It sat like rocks in my gut as I ran for 15 miles.  Near the end I totally thought I was going to boot.  While I was able to cover the distance in 2 hours, but my stomach felt like it’d been through a cheese grater, I busted a toenail, and my t-shirt was so repulsive and sweat-laden that I threw it somewhere out in the yard.  No doubt the noxious-smelling cotton monstrosity is defoliating the grounds as I write.    All of this grumbling is counterproductive.  WIth another marathon looming, I need to get my mojo back.  Goodbye oily fish, hello gravy.

 

 

 

Ingredients:

 

1 pack of chicken gravy (0.87 oz)*

¾ C water

1 T chili powder

¼ t red pepper flakes

½ t coriander

½ t cumin

½ t garlic powder

1 lb pork loin, cut into small pieces*

 

 

 

Directions:

 

  1. In a slow cooker, whisk together water, gravy mix, and seasonings.
  2. Add pork loin pieces and mix.
  3. Cook on low for 7 hours.
  4. Cook on high for 45 minutes.
  5. Serve over noodles or potatoes or biscuits.

 

Just Gravy Pork Loin Chili

Just Gravy Pork Loin Chili

Tasting Notes:

 

Nothing bests gravy as a performance enhancer.  This dish offered fork-tender pork loin seductively swimming in a lush chili gravy.  Mrs. Chili 365 and I rated this chili as very good while the junior Involuntary Taste Panel members gave it an “okay”.  The issue, I believe stems from the January 4th chili gravy I hatched.  That particular gravy was not suitable for human consumption, rather it was well formulated to patch concrete.  Though tonight’s iteration of the gravy chili bore no resemblance to that abomination, I think the kids remain gun shy.

 

* Will I draw PETA’s ire for intermingling the pork with the chicken gravy?

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in pork and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What's on your mind?

