Garlicky Chili Cheese Sandwiches

The blister on my foot faithfully mimics the shape of Texas and, by the intense pain it is imparting, it likely rivals the Lone Star State in size. Garlic should help.  This of course, is wild conjecture.  I remain, however, hungry for garlic.  Any fanciful health benefits derived from its use will suit my fancy smashingly.  In concocting a chili heavily laden with garlic, I considered my seasoning options while contemplating cryptic words uttered by my son last night.  According the Pre, “humans are (merely) more tolerant slugs.”  This disquieting revelation likely was referring to a person’s ability to withstand certain osmotic stressors.  I just can’t help but feel unnerved when anyone draws a parallel between shell-less mollusks and higher hominids.  Regardless, the declaration is ominous enough- I’ll lay off the (extra) salt, at least for now.

 

Ingredients:

 

1 lb ground beef

12 cloves garlic, smashed

1 C tomato sauce

1 T chili powder

1 T paprika

½ t red pepper flakes

Tiny cheese cubes

Hamburger buns.

 

Directions:

 

  1. Brown the ground beef then drain the fat.
  2. Add garlic, tomato sauce, chili powder, paprika, and red pepper, stirring well to mix.
  3. Simmer on low for 1 hour.
  4. Add cheese and blend until the cheese has melted.
  5. Serve on buns.

 

Garlicky Chili Cheese Sandwiches

Garlicky Chili Cheese Sandwiches

Tasting Notes:

 

While the flavor was pleasing, this dish left an indelible impression, as it was definitely cheesy and absolutely garlicky.  All dropped their forks (and jaws) when I confided that the chili contained a dozen cloves of garlic.  Apparently my recent predilection for garlic has the ITP concerned.  Speaking for the concerned Panel, Mrs. ITP wanted to know if I have a smoldering fear of vampires.  Yeah… well who doesn’t?  The Good Missus shouldn’t worry about me, as I’m taking steps to defend myself.  At the rate I’m using garlic, if Vlad Dracula so much as flies over our house, he’s going to fall from the sky like he was dropped from the Enola Gay.   Anyway, Mrs. Chili 365 ought to be more proactive in seeking the means to fend off her arch-nemesis, the fearsome garden slug.

 

 

This entry was posted in beef, sandwich and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Garlicky Chili Cheese Sandwiches

  1. I love this blog! If anyone wants to learn how to make yummy healthy recipes please check out my youtube channel! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wYEqZcJOOTk

What's on your mind?

