Spicy Chili Slaw

Spicy Chili Slaw

Spicy Chili Slaw

Michelangelo painted the Sistine Chapel.  Ford invented the Model T.  Steinbeck penned Grapes of Wrath.  I can’t muster the resolve to adequately clean my garage to the extent that I can walk through it without nearly breaking my neck.  Man is capable of anything or absolutely nothing.  This is dependent, I surmise, on the man.  As I felt that today I ought to pursue more fruitful activities, today’s chili prep is enormously non-time consuming and confoundingly uncomplicated.

Day 189

 

Ingredients:

2 T pickled jalapenos, diced

1 T sugar

2 T cider vinegar

1 T chili powder

½ T taco seasoning

½ C mayonnaise

1- 14oz package shredded cabbage and carrots.

 

Diced fresh tomatoes.

 

Directions:

 

  1. In a glass measure, mix jalapenos, sugar, vinegar, chili powder, and taco seasoning.
  2. Microwave on high for 20 minutes (this heating allows encourages molecular movement, thus allowing the flavors to meld)
  3. Add mayo to and mix well.
  4. To a large bowl, add shredded cabbage and carrots then add the mayo/seasoning mix.
  5. Mix well and store (covered) in a refrigerator for at least 1 hour.
  6. To serve, spoon onto a plate and add diced fresh tomatoes.

 

 

 

Tasting Notes:

 

I served the spicy chili slaw alongside simple mashed red potatoes and a pork tenderloin I had prepared in the slow cooker.  The effect was quite nice.  The spicy slaw accompanied the tender meat to the extent that they became a single blissfully spicy/umamic entity.  Chili Jr. and Pre offered this appraisal,  “The coleslaw was good, some underlying chili flavor, not too much.  Just enough.”  I really couldn’t have said it better myself.  Wholly, a success.

 

The quick prep meal afforded me some time to take care of some important household tasks.  If you peak into the garage, you’ll see that it remains, by appearance, a candidate for federal disaster relief.  I had more personally pressing matters to attend- like bottling my Wholly Grail Pale Ale.  “Let he who would move the world, first bottle his brew.”

 

This entry was posted in Side dish, vegetables and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Spicy Chili Slaw

  1. gannonham says:

    Yummy recipe, can’t wait to give it a try!
    If you’re ever looking for an easy coleslaw recipe, try this one on my blog. Only 2 ingredients! http://sweetseatstreats.wordpress.com/2014/06/30/2-ingredient-2-minute-colesaw/

What's on your mind?

