Elk Suaasat Chili

Suaasat, the national dish of Greenland, typically features seal or whale meat.  I was unable to procure either.  Admittedly, my search was by no account exhaustive, as sticking my head in the household freezer barely passes for perfunctory perusal.  Nonetheless, if we are to make some tasty chili sausaat, I am going to need to do some ad-libbing.  My extemporization skills are at times shaky- ask Mrs. Chili 365 about my clever marriage proposal.  All things considered, I fell back on my ace-in-the-hole, Elk.

Ingredients:

 

2 T peanut oil

¾ lb elk stew meat, cut into small cubes

1 1/3 C diced white onions

2 red potatoes, diced

2 C water

2 T chili powder

2 T fish sauce

1 t cumin

¼ C sushi rice.

 

Directions:

 

  1. Fry elk meat and onions in hot oil until the elk meat is seared on all sides.
  2. Add remaining ingredients and simmer for 30 minutes.
Elk Suaasat Chili

Elk Suaasat Chili

 

Tasting Notes:

 

 

The suaasat chili was a big suaa-cess.  The fish sauce/elk meat tandem proved to me a winning twosome as the ITP devoured the contents of the chili pot in under 10 minutes.  The Greenlanders seem to have a knack for creating tasting cuisine.  Suaasat will most certainly become a household staple at casa de chili.   Of the elk chilis I have made, this is my favorite.

 

If you enjoy chili versions of international cuisine, check out Canada’s chili poutine, America’s cheeseburger chili, and Thailand’s chicken and asparagus chili.

This entry was posted in wild game and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What's on your mind?

