Ultramarathon Peanut Butter Chicken Chili Sandwiches

Ultramarathon Peanut Butter Chicken Chili Sandwiches

 

 

Fatigue is a-ok- provided that you are well equipped with management skills. I am not endowed with organizational competencies, but I am terrifyingly good at faking it. At 3:45 am I had the unabated pleasure of consuming the world’s perfect breakfast- two donuts, a cup of coffee, and a chili sandwich.  Fueled, dressed, and ready to run, it was time to hit the road.  Arriving at the race, I was pleased to be greeted by bathrooms with actual plumbing.  The race went well and after 34 miles there was nothing more I wanted than more chili sandwiches and a shower. I had the good fortune to procure both. The chili sandwich (along with about 12 hamburgers, 3 shots of whiskey, 8 beers, and some kind of wine?) has kept me going until now( 11pm). The shower was nice too. The only dissention being my ardent refusal to remove my compression sleeves as I bathed (tehe). The highlight of the day turned out to be not the race (which was epic), the partying (which was better than epic), or the waking up ridiculously early (which was ridiculous). It was rescuing over 100 little toads from the blades of an angry mower.

 

Ingredients

 

1/3 C peanut butter

1 can chicken (10 oz)

2 t cili powder

3 fast food packs of ketchup (alright, you got me, we are traveling and away from home)

 

Buns (or something)

 

Directions:

 

Mix all (except buns)

Microwave on high for 1 minute

Spread on buns

 

Ultramarathon Peanut Butter Chicken Chili Sandwiches.  I am terrible at taking photos, especially prior to 4am.

Ultramarathon Peanut Butter Chicken Chili Sandwiches. I am terrible at taking photos, especially prior to 4am.

The ITP and I save these little cuties.

The ITP and I save these little cuties.

Tasting Notes:

 

The chili fueled me for 34+ miles, which is nice.  I had stashed another sandwich in my drop bag, which baked in the sun for 6+ hours.  I (sadly) eschewed eating this sandwich in favor (wisely, I guess) of downing a fresh chili sandwich.  I packed the rest in a clam shell fast food tray and we were on our way- family reunion (and blessed, life-giving, nurturing booze) in our sights.  Mrs. Chili365 commented that I have invented meaty peanut butter (yay). I survived (with colors) the ultra. Better yet, I convinced the ITP to rescue a bunch of baby toads. Looks like the I managed to do a few things right today.

 

This entry was posted in chicken, sandwich and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ultramarathon Peanut Butter Chicken Chili Sandwiches

  1. hueyut says:

    34 miles WOW! Fueled by determination, ITP support and ……..chili?

  2. spasture says:

    Couldn’t have been done without the support of the ITP, the nourishment provided by chili, and (of course) my feet.

What's on your mind?

