I Love Olive Chili Sandwiches

Some say love, it is a river
That grows the olive trees
Some say love, it is a razor
That cuts the ground beef
I say love it is a hunger
For a bowl of 365’s Chili

Indeed, love is enigmatic to most (not me though, I have it all figured out, just ask me.) The question remains- What’s the mystery behind the chili sandwiches? It’s no secret that I like to have olive chili in the days leading up to a long race. Oh yeah, and we need to use up some near-stale bread. The final uncertainty is this- Will this chili be love at first bite? That is anyone’s guess, but we’ll see if this recipe learns to dance.

Ingredients:

1 lb ground beef
1 C shredded carrots
2 T green onion, diced
½ C canned diced tomatoes
1 C vegetable juice
2 T brown sugar
2 T chili powder
1 t coriander
1 t garlic powder
2/3 C Sliced green olives
1 T yellow mustard

Directions:

1) Fry beef and drain.
2) Add remaining ingredients (except olives and mustard) and simmer 30 minutes.
3) Add olives and mustard and heat through.
4) Serve on bread.

I Love Olive Chili Sandwiches

I Love Olive Chili Sandwiches

Tasting notes:

It looks like Mrs. Chili 365 doesn’t like green olives or sandwiches. How did I get mixed up in this? Umm- Fortunately, the ITP stepped up and ate some pretty good chili. While it was not love at first bite, the “I love olive chili sandwiches” and I had a nice night together. I promise, I will call it. Soon. sometime.

This entry was posted in ground beef, sandwich and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I Love Olive Chili Sandwiches

  1. firecook says:

    You got that part from a song huh;) I like it even better than the song…Have a nice day Chili looks good..

What's on your mind?

