Sauerkraut and Chili Burgers

We have survived over 150 days of chili. Life offers an endless procession of choices. In my mind, there ought to be aspiring behavioral scientists lining up at my door wishing to investigate the chili365 blog as a “thesis-level case study in deliberately poor decision making.” (tehe)
Okay, seriously, here’s my motivation for the blog- Life moves along very quickly. I feel that if each day in 2014 I can encapsulate events, feelings, and even something as mundane as “redundant” meals, I sense that I will be able to save time in a bottle or, er, in a chili bowl. So far, it has been mostly fun, with a few sticking points. The ceaseless daily ritual of inventing a new chili recipe, preparing the meal, and subsequently writing about it is not always easy. There are two fantastic books on which I rely for motivation- “Chili Nation” by Jan and Michael Stern and “365 Penguins” by Jean-Luc Fromental. Seemingly disparate titles? Hardly. The text of each so interwoven in my psyche that they form but a single narrative.

Pre, Chili Jr., and The Pirate ran *fantastic* 5K races today. Is there a better way to recognize the monumental achievements of these (involuntarily-chili-fueled) youngsters than to serve up sauerkraut and chili burgers? I think not.

DAY151

Ingredients:

2 lb ground beef
½ C of drained sauerkraut
½ C chopped onions
1 T chili powder
1 t paprika
1 t garlic powder
2 T Worcestershire sauce

Directions:

1) In a bowl, mix all ingredients (except the meat).
2) Add the meat and (with clean hands) knead the sweet-ass chili kraut stuff into the meat.
3) Form into 8 hamburger patties.
4) Place patties on a plate, cover with plastic wrap and store in the fridge overnight.
5) The following day, grill patties over medium heat. Enjoy a beer or two as they cook.

Sauerkraut and Chili Burgers

Sauerkraut and Chili Burgers

Tasting Notes:

Yep, these burgers are the real deal. The overnight “rest” in the fridge served them quite well. The kraut flavor was present but it contentedly deferred to the picante flavors offered up by chili and onion. The “rest time” in the fridge obviously allowed the flavors an opportunity to become acquainted. Pre-making the patties frees up the hands on grilling day. Typically, I light the grill, enjoy an adult beverage (or two) then grab the raw ground beef and form the patties. Today, I had the luxury of cranking into the third homebrew without having to handle any ground up cows. (Small victory I know, but I take what I can get.) In the end, the ITP thought the burgers were very good. The guest ITP (Ma and Pa Chili365) dug digging these lil’ ole patties of chili goodness{thanks guys}. I officially endorse the burgers. You have my word on it.

This entry was posted in Grilled, ground beef and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What's on your mind?

