Exploded Walking Chili Burritos

Burritos are favorite at Casa de Chili. Problem is that, for me, the act of folding burritos can be like a trip to the Twilight Zone. I’m so bad at generating a cohesive and non-drippy version of this beloved Mexican fare that I’ve nearly given up on the enterprise entirely. Enter the walking burrito, which *should* settle the matter. Here, in fairness a confession is necessary. The amalgamation of food and bipedal travel should (in my opinion) never even enter consideration. I was ruefully reminded of this as today’s training run brought me past the restaurant outside which the “incident” occurred. The synopsis, I have been known to become an ungainly mess at the sight of a person bedecked in a pancake outfit. So was the case last month as Pre and I strode past said breakfast establishment. As it happened, in my efforts to gain the anthropomorphized flapjack’s attention (so I could give it a high-five), I somehow completely lost my balance as well as my composure and careened helplessly toward the now-clearly-alarmed man-sized griddle cake. Just as fate was about to deal a tragic and embarrassing blow to an otherwise good run, the gods of breakfast mascotdom must have smiled. At the last second, I veered right and pancake guy feigned left. Crisis averted. Whew. Pre, who had calmly taken in the escapade as played out before him offered this appraisal, “Smooth, Dad. Real smooth.”

So, really, this isn’t a walking chili burrito, as I remained pensively anchored to my chair as I ate. With no legs of its own, one could scarcely call it a walking burrito. In the interests of accuracy, it looked more like a burrito had “done blowed up”.

Ingredients:

1 lb ground beef
2/3 C vegetable juice
1 T chili powder
1 t garlic salt
1 t cumin
1 t onion powder
1 can (15 oz) pinto beans, drained
2 Roma tomatoes, diced
1/3 C pickled pepperoncini, finely chopped
1 C shredded cheddar cheese

5 (10 inch) tortillas, torn

Directions:

1) Brown ground beef and drain fat.
2) Return pot to medium flame and add vegetable juice, spices and beans.
3) Simmer on low for 20 minutes.
4) Add tomatoes, pepperoncini, and cheese.
5) Heat just long enough to melt the cheese.
6) Place torn tortillas in bowls.
7) Heap bowls with chili.

Exploded Walking Chili Burritos

Exploded Walking Chili Burritos


Tasting Notes:

If there was to be a chili all-star team, this one would be in the starting lineup. Everything was pitch perfect from the spiciness, to the meaty texture, to the amount of gooey cheese. Each of the Involuntary Taste Panel rated this chili extremely high and further found that it paired well with orange juice. Try this chili. Of the 146 that I’ve made this year, the Exploded Walking Chili Burrito stands out as comfortably in the top 3. Tasty and smooth, real smooth.

This entry was posted in ground beef, hybrid chili and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What's on your mind?

