Chicken and Black Olive Chili over Hashbrowns

I began the day with a biting case of heartburn. Curiously, running 14 ½ miles did nothing to soothe the dyspepsia. In fact, things became precipitously worse as I clambered the last few miles toward home. Grimacing, I searched my memory for the potential culprit.

Chili? Nope, couldn’t be, as we’ve eaten chili every day this year (including today that makes 138 consecutive days). At this outset of the 2014 and the chili project, I had experienced heartburn. The ailment abated as the time passed and my system adapted to a diet consisting of mostly chili. Things had gone pretty swimmingly before today unpleasantness.

Running? Nah. I’ve run every day since September 2013. Running is the cure for ailments, not the cause. Nothing eases pain or smashes hangovers like the daily run.

Store bought beer? Now, we may be on to something. I hadn’t intended to purchase beer yesterday. The plan, per usual, was to drink my homebrewed beer. As it happened, I had taken The Pirate to the local grocer for lemonade to drink at our cookout. As serendipity would have it, a guy from one of the local breweries was at the store pouring free samples. Long story short, after 20 minutes of sampling and talking IPAs with someone who cares (Mrs. Chili365 patiently listens to my nuanced beer proselytizing, but that doesn’t mean she cares) The Pirate and I left the store with a jug of lemonade and a 6 pack of (potentially) dysentery-inducing brew. Egad.

Chicken and Olive Chili mixed with hash browns may see to it that I’m on the mend.

Ingredients

For Chili:

1 lb boneless, skinless chicken breast
1 can (15oz) pinto beans drained
1 can (14.5 oz) diced tomatoes
½ C tomato sauce
½ C sliced black olives
1 T chili powder
1 t dry mustard
1 t onion powder
1 t paprika

For Hashbrowns:

12 oz frozen shredded hash browns
1 ½ T butter

Directions:

1) In a pan, fry hashbrowns in butter and set aside.
2) In a pot, fry chicken breast until cooked completely.
3) Remove chicken from pan and cut into small pieces.
4) Return chicken to the pan and add remaining chili ingredients, mix.
5) Turn heat to medium.
6) When chili begins to simmer vigorously, turn heat to low and allow to simmer for 15 minutes.
7) Place individual servings of hashbrowns in bowls and top with chili.

Chicken and Black Olive Chili over Hashbrowns

Chicken and Black Olive Chili over Hashbrowns

Tasting Notes:

All members of the ITP gave this chili high marks. Pre, usually the “tasty meal agnostic” even voiced strong affection for this chili. It may be the olives, who can resist deliciously salty olives. For my part, I muddled through. I was happy to have the starchy potatoes for my ailing stomach. As I (uncharacteristically) slowly finished my meal I found the chili delicious and, to some extent soothing. Quantifiably more soothing, however, was apple pie with ice cream, served post-chili. Now that I’m beginning to feel better only one question remains, what to do with the remaining bottles of the “reign of terror” store-bought beer? Thoughts?

This entry was posted in chicken and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What's on your mind?

