Magic Wagon Ride Chicken Chili

Nixie, one of our pet chickens, has set about moping around her nest box 24-7. The source of her broodiness is unknown, but it may have something to do with the sheer number of chicken chili recipes we have concocted recently. I recall asking them if they have been reading any of the chili365 recipes. Typical of chickens, they just looked at me (as though I was crazy) and commenced to offer no response. Seems that chickens are a cagey lot (in more ways than one. ) As I see it, there are 3 possible means by which I could cure Nixie of her gloominess.

1) Stop making chicken chili. This would be the least likely course I would take, as chicken tastes delicious.

2) Cut off the chicken’s………….. access to the internet. I don’t favor this approach either. I may be a number of things, but I am not a fascist tyrant.

3) Take Nixie for a wagon ride…

DAY 125

Ingredients:

1 lb of boneless, skinless chicken breast (store bought), cubed
1 can (10 ¾ oz) tomato soup
1 T chili powder
1 C vegetable juice
1 t cumin
2 t sriracha sauce
1 can (15 oz) cannellini beans, drained
Cooked spaghetti diced

Directions:

1) Brown chicken cubes in a pot.
2) After the chicken is nearly fully cooked, add soup, juice, chili powder, cumin, and sriracha sauce.
3) Simmer on low for 45 minutes.
4) Add cannellini beans and macaroni and simmer for 5 minutes more.

Nixie in the wagon

Nixie in the wagon

Magic Wagon Ride Chicken Chili

Magic Wagon Ride Chicken Chili

Wagon ride notes:

I honestly sensed that the wagon ride was providing Nixie with the R and R she needed to recoup. This feeling, of course, only lasted for through the first 10 minutes of our near-epic wagon journey. As time passed I was beginning to get the very real sense that Nixie was just trying to humor me. In her perception, the big wagon extravaganza was for my amusement and she was willing to let me have my fun. Nixie sat, head cocked and eyes fixed on me, stoically waiting to see if I had yet finished with this charming little diversion. Chickens, it appears, have the patience of saints and the wisdom of mystics. As we trudged back to our yard and our trek drew to a close, Nixie left me with two nuggets of this wisdom. 1) The intangible realization that I must attempt to practice more patience- both with chickens and with people. 2) The realization that I’d need to get a towel and the hose, as there was a very tangible nugget lying on the floor of the wagon.

Tasting Notes:

This chili was rich and satisfying without being overly complicated or expensive to make. Work this chili into your weeknight rotation and you’ll have a nice staple. The Involuntary Tasting Panel found it to be good and adequate but not groundbreaking. Point taken. Sometimes the exotic is not called for. The ITP needs to realize that life isn’t all unicorns and rainbows- at least it isn’t yet, wait until they see what I will have waiting for them tomorrow…

This entry was posted in chicken, traditional chili and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What's on your mind?

