Chili Cheeseburger Pie

Day 92

I do believe I’m violating the prenuptials by making chili with beans three nights in a row. Some love their spouse while others are in love with their car. Recently I’ve become smitten with my glass pie pan. Lately, we have had some really good times together.

https://chili365.wordpress.com/2014/04/01/birthday-chili-cornbread-with-refried-bean-frosting/

https://chili365.wordpress.com/2014/03/14/fish-taco-chili-pie/

https://chili365.wordpress.com/2014/01/28/elk-chili-pie/

Tonight we’ll conjure a synergism of non-ethnic cuisine by melding chili, cheeseburgers, and pie.

Ingredients:


The CHILI part:

1 lb ground beef
1C vegetable juice
1 C tomato sauce
1 can kidney beans, drained
2 T chili powder
½ T cumin
½ T paprika
½ t coriander
1 T dried onion flakes
1 t garlic powder

The Condiment part:

Ketchup (about 3 T or to taste)
Yellow mustard (about 3 T or to taste)
Dill pickle slices (about ¾ C or to taste
1 C shredded cheddar cheese

The Crust part:

1 tube (11 oz) Pillsbury breadsticks.

Directions:

1) Brown ground beef then drain fat.
2) Add remaining chili ingredients and simmer for 10 minutes on medium heat.
3) Pour into pie pan.
4) Top with condiment ingredients.
5) Top with crust.
6) Bake at 400F for 15 minutes. (see note above regarding “drippiness”).

Chili Cheeseburger Pie - Precrust

Chili Cheeseburger Pie – Precrust

Chili Cheeseburger Pie.  Smile, its ready to eat.

Chili Cheeseburger Pie. Smile, its ready to eat.

Tasting Notes:

A word of caution. There is a significantly high probability of boil-over during the baking process. For my trouble, I secured a dandy second degree burn. It should go quite nicely with the third degree Mrs. Chili 365 will give me when I next use the oven and char the spilled drippings thus setting off “the world’s loudest” smoke alarm. That’s what happens when you write a fourth rate food blog. I just wish I’d have placed a cookie sheet under the pie pan in the first place.

I enjoyed the chili quite a bit, to the extent that I ate myself uncomfortable. (Maybe another violation of the pre-nups?). The word from the Involuntary Taste Panel was that this chili tasted “really good” and “authentic.” This is where I decided to press- Authentic what? I have not known a culture to churn out Chili Cheeseburger Pie as a matter of civic pride or ethnic identity. I wanted to know what they meant. This was the response, “Yeah, you know, au-then-tic, and it’s not bad.”

This entry was posted in bean, beef, hybrid chili, Mash-up and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What's on your mind?

