Fried Bologna and Grape Jelly Chili

Day 86

Each of us are on a journey whose end is inevitable and invariant. With the ultimate destination explicit, prudence calls us to focus on the trip rather its terminus. Today’s junket entails combining bologna and grape jelly for the expressed purpose of making our 86th chili- a diversion from the beaten path indeed.

Ingredients:

– 14 oz ring bologna, cubed
– 1 C Sweet Red pepper, cubed
– ½ C concord grape jelly
– 1 C tomato sauce
– 1 T chili powder
– ½ t celery salt
– ¼ t black pepper

Directions:
1) Add cubed bologna and cubed peppers to a pot and fry over medium heat for 5-7 minutes.
2) Add remaining ingredients and simmer over low heat for 20 minutes.
3) Serve with a Pretzilla Soft Pretzel Bun.

Does this chili make my pretzel bun look big?

Does this chili make my pretzel bun look big?

Tasting Notes:
As I focused on the “journey” aspect of the chili prep, I was keenly aware of tactile sensory feedback. (FYI- when I write “journey”, I am not referring to the band formally fronted by Steve Perry. If this were the case, I’d only be keenly aware of breaking out in hives. Lots of itchy, terrible hives.) Whew. I was very conscious that this chili had squishy parts (bologna) and sticky parts (jelly). This tag team of squishy/sticky lent to a very pleasing meal. The chili was sweet with a spicy undercurrent that paired quite nicely with the pretzel buns. Honestly, this one is so easy to make and so delicious, I’ll hazard to wager that you’ll like it, as the ITP surely did. This evening I was mindful. Mostly I was mindful that I’m no Robert Frost, ahem- “Today when I came to a fork in the road, I picked it up, dusted it off, and commenced to eat my chili.”

This entry was posted in bologna, strange chili and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What's on your mind?

