St. Patrick’s Day Corned Beef and Cabbage Chili

Day 76

As one of the myriad of unintended side effects of being raised by the devoutly Irish, I am obliged to make corned beef and cabbage on St. Patrick’s Day. Fact is, there was time when I categorically enjoyed corned beef and cabbage. That time ended the year Mrs. Chili365 was experiencing morning sickness throughout the month of March. Her bouts of daybreak nausea appeared to be triggered by the smell of cooked meat. Long story short, I ate corned beef and cabbage (at work) every day for a period of a week and a half. The reiterative dining finally culminated in my spilling about 2 pounds of corned beef and cabbage down my back as I biked to work one morning. It took me two full months of semi-occasional showering just to rid my body of the odor of peppercorns and cooked brassica. Since then, I have approached my March 17th cooking encumbrance with a mixture of apprehension and abhorrence. Thank goodness the Irish likewise invented Guinness.

This year’s March 17th cuisine du jour will have a strikingly overt chili presence. I am hopeful that this will knock down (or, rather, completely knockout) any immoderate corned beef flavor.

Recipe:
Slice thin and fry in a pan until cooked through:
– 1 pound corned beef

Drain fat but reserve ½ C for later.
Remove corned beef to a clean bowl.

Add to a pot:
– ½ C of reserved fat
– 1 C cabbage, diced
– ½ C carrots, diced
– ½ C rutabaga, diced
– 3 T of dried California Chili, cut into very thin strips
– 1 T chili powder

Fry over medium heat for 10 minutes.
Add cooked corned beef.
Fry another 10 minutes.
Serve with buttered potatoes and beer (and another beer).

St. Patrick’s Day Corned Beef and Cabbage Chili

St. Patrick’s Day Corned Beef and Cabbage Chili

St. Patrick’s Day Chili and beer

St. Patrick’s Day Chili and beer

Tasting Notes:

One of the Involuntary Tasting Panel exclaimed (in an outside voice) “Hey, I actually really like this!” Aside from the redundancy of the adverb, I whole-hearted agree. Deep down, I’m truly glad I won’t be tethered to 10 pounds of Irish cuisine for the remainder of March. This may be a bit of a tangent, but I thought it actually tasted like beef jerky. Much like Al Gore and his internet, I henceforth can be (self-) credited with inventing beef jerky. As an added bonus, it looks like Mrs. Chili365 has no aversion to meat. Translation- the ITP will not be adding to its numbers any time soon.

This entry was posted in beef, Mash-up, strange chili, vegetables and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to St. Patrick’s Day Corned Beef and Cabbage Chili

  1. This might be the year I become inspired to try making corned beef. I’m strangely intimidated by corned beef. My contribution to the St. Patrick’s Day food realm was a Sneaky Leprechaun Milkshake… until next March…

    • spasture says:

      I believe it is the strong flavor and chewy texture of corned beef that puts people off. To confront the flavor issue, I used a chili-based strategy. As for the chewiness, I’m not so sure- perhaps a tryptic digestion?

What's on your mind?

