Chili Chicken Noodle Soup

Day 63

In a departure from traditional chili, I present a chili version of chicken noodle soup. It was time. No, I haven’t sacked the backyard hens. Despite their freeloading ways (3 of them anyway), I could never bring myself to do it. Each has her own distinct personality and food preference:

Sarah (hardworking egg layer): Favorite food- Macaroni and cheese

Nixie (big, lazy girl with personality for miles): Favorite food- Peanut butter and jelly

Penelope (smart, but too petite for her own safety): Favorite food- fresh corn

Rosabelle (rule follower, sergeant-at-arms): favorite food- whatever Penelope is eating

Would the chickens try chili? They already have. As yet, they haven’t developed a taste for it. Perhaps Penelope could dupe Rosabelle into wolfing down a bowl of red, but I suspect Rosabelle would exact a cruel revenge.

Backyard flock aside, the impetus for today’s chili chicken soup is the unanimous and palpable desire to take a break from tomato (or strawberry) based chili. Case in point, while intending to scribble a note asking the children to call their grandmother, I instead scribed “chili” on the white board (apparently all chili and no play makes me a dull boy.) This, coupled with an upset stomach, has me thinking we need something different (but, you know, slightly chili) today.

Add to a pot:
1 lb chicken breast (store bought), cut into small pieces
5 C water
1 T chicken bullion
2 t chili powder
2 T fresh jalapeno, diced
3 cloves garlic, minced
1 t Penzey’s Northwoods seasoning
1 C diced white onions
1 C carrot

Bring to boil, then reduce heat and simmer for 1 hour.
Add:
3 C raw egg noodles.
Simmer until noodles are cooked through, about 15 minutes.

Chili chicken noodle soup

Chili chicken noodle soup

Tasting notes.

Mission accomplished. There were sublime chili notes, but this meal was by and large just a simple chicken soup. Two of the three junior ITP ranked this as their favorite “chili” thus far. The remaining Panel members also gave it high marks. I found it a bit too mild for my taste, but, given my recent bout with peptic distress, the soup hit the spot. Perspective being a funny thing, I imagine the backyard hens would state that my chili chicken noodle soup misses the mark and induces peptic distress.

This entry was posted in chicken, hybrid chili, vegetables and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What's on your mind?