Elk and Alcohol Chili

Day 60

Whimsy must have its limits. Unfortunately, those boundaries are not readily apparent in our kitchen. Upon dreaming up the cutesy name, I knew I’d be obliged to follow through by cranking out a dish worthy of aforementioned droll appellate. Mrs. Chili365’s response was to be expected, “Grrrr. Why must you put alcohol in everything?” At first I was thinking, “uh, like, duh, because booze makes everything so much better.” I thought better of it and, in articulating my reply, I indicated that I really enjoyed the alliterative quality brought about by the coupling of the words elk and alcohol. Mrs. Chili365’s response: “In that case, why don’t you call it drunken elk chili?” Immediately I resolved that if (that is, if only) my life were an episode of Space Ghost Coast to Coast, this would be the part where there’d be a cut scene of Zorak blinking repeatedly.

Recipe:
1 pound of Elk stew meat
2/3 t celery salt
1 C bloody mary mix
2 T chili powder
½ t cumin
½ t red pepper flakes
½ t garlic powder
1 C beer (lager)
1T Rum
1 C diced Roma tomato

Place ingredients in a slow cooker and cook on low 10 hours.

Add 1/3 C raw barley and cook on high 2 hours.

First a couple of ingredient notes:
The chili365 clan is awesome at finding and harvesting meat-bearing animals. You know who you are- Thank you again for the tasty elk.
Emptying the can of bloody mary mix has proven to be a Sisyphean task. I’ve been featuring the stuff in nearly every recipe this week and still the can remains nearly full.

Elk and Alcohol Chili

Elk and Alcohol Chili

Tasting Notes:

Another good recipe! The ITP universally approved of this one. They noted as highlights the tender chunks of elk and the spicy, yet not overly spicy, broth. In my view this was another winner. Sadly, after getting ahold of some bad food at work (something not chili), my guts sound (and feel) like a drunken pirate mumbling a low sea chantey. Suffice to say (and alas), my food intake will be limited today. Yarggg.

This entry was posted in traditional chili, wild game and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What's on your mind?

