Hearty chili with dumplings- February 5th

Dumpling is a funny word, just ask the ITP. Amusing moniker aside, dumplings are fantastic. They are reminiscent of a hug from grandma. They are soft, warm, and just what you need when life gets you down. Yes, even chili365 has bad days. It is not my intent to induce further reader despondency, but it appears that I am not yet safe from a tragic Louis XVI-type end. It was chronicled yesterday that the ITP was unhappy and whispering in faint tones while devouring escargots. Today, more omens. One of the ITP arrived home from school with a French-style mustache drawn under his nose and prominently announced his joining the French Olympic contingency. [I WISH I were making this up]. I have two options 1) come up with more appealing chili or 2) double up on the Kevlar turtlenecks. My instinct is try to make better chili, as one Kevlar turtleneck is mightily itchy. It is not within my capacity to imagine the discomfort wrought by wearing a second.

Recipe:

½ lb ground beef, cooked and drained
4 oz fresh mushrooms, sliced
1C carrot, chopped fine
3 C vegetable juice
1 C water
½ t celery salt
1T chili powder
1 T dried onion
½ t fenugreek*
½ t cumin
½ t black pepper
1 t fish sauce
*I do not know what fenugreek is, but it was in my cupboard.

Add ingredients to a pot and bring to a gentle simmer, cook for 5 minutes
For Dumplings:
1 C jiffy mix
1/3 C milk

Mix milk and jiffy.
Drop by spoonful into the simmer chili
Simmer 30-40 minutes.

hearty chili with dumplings

hearty chili with dumplings

Tasting notes:

The dumplings were a pleasant addition to this hearty chili. This turned out spicier than I had anticipated. I am uncertain what supplied the extra punch. Perhaps it was the black pepper. That aside, this was my favorite since the sweet sour sausage chili. Yep, if I survive this, I’ll make this chili again, with more mushrooms. As for the ITP’s take- they would not humor me with a straight response. The only words a received from them- “it’s good enough”. Evidently, three meals of chili today is not the sole source of my discomfort….

This entry was posted in ground beef, traditional chili and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What's on your mind?

