Cheese Biscuit Chili- February 4th

Faint rumblings are barely audible but yet are perceivable as the fortress of chili begins to crumble. There has been some discontent in the air. The ITP hasn’t been pleased with the last few chilis. I sense that unless I come up with something good, they’ll storm the Bastille. While it seems inconceivable that my beloved ITP would go all French Revolution on me, I had a moment of dark foreshadowing during the Superbowl. In a dark corner of the living room I spied my own children wearing Tricolour cockades and eating escargots. Seriously, they ate snails. I am not sure if the Amazon order for a giant blade sharpener has anything to do with a potential insurrection, but believe me, it is difficult to get a good night’s sleep with one eye open. Let’s hope this recipe is good.

2C Jiffy Baking Mix
2/3 C milk

Mix the Jiffy and milk, then press onto a pizza stone or cookie sheet.
Bake at 425 until done.

Meanwhile mix in a small pot:
1 can of tomato soup
¼ C spaghetti sauce
½ pound ground beef pre-cooked and drained
4 oz sliced fresh mushrooms
½ C black olives, sliced
1/3 C green pepper, diced
2 t chili pepper
1 t garlic powder

Simmer on low heat for 10 minutes

When crust has finished baking, spread chili over crust and top with:

8 oz mozzarella cheese

Place back in the oven and bake until cheese melts.

tasty chili in the middle

tasty chili in the middle

Cheese biscuit chili

Cheese biscuit chili

Tasting notes:

The biscuity crust was a nice touch as was the crown of mozzarella. The chili itself was passable. If I had my druthers, and less civil unrest in the kingdom, I’d have spiced it harder and added red onions and pickled jalapenos. My attempt to give the chili a more broad appeal seems to have paid off. The ITP ate their meal and did not complain. A couple of panel members earnestly liked it. Likely, this will be good enough for now. The ITP can stop stashing gunpowder barrels in the basement and I can sleep better, no longer confined to Kevlar turtleneck pajamas.

Week in Review:

2 sausage
2 rabbit
2 ground beef
1 squash

Five weeks in. The entire house smells of chili around the clock. The pot, even when clean, smells of chili. Mrs. Chili 365 is demanded a new pot designation for “anything but chili”. Ugh.
The beer and wine chili was tasted far better today when I had it for lunch. I dressed it up oyster crackers, shredded cheese and a ton of Crystal sauce. I believe the Crystal sauce managed to annihilate much of the bitter flavor that the IPA had imparted. I really need to read my own blog such that I may not be doomed to repeat a history of chili failures.
On a brighter note, the sweet sour sausage chili was excellent. We used rabbit twice with the wings being superior to the groundhog bites. Importantly, chili365 has made fake Braunschweiger and the world can finally rest easy.

This entry was posted in ground beef, hybrid chili and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cheese Biscuit Chili- February 4th

  1. Andy says:

    It would be hubris for us, a family who only concocts a mere 4 pots of chili a year to give any suggestions but I may have yet another vehicle for your mania. I did nota bene in recent entries the existence of a search that was being under utilized by the founder. I entered the letters C-H-O-R-I-Z-O. Bupkis.

  2. spasture says:

    B_I_N_G_O. You are spot on. I need to make a chorizo chili. Funny that Sno Shoe Glog is popping up on this blog like dandelions in May (June this year), but no Chorizo. Thanks for the heads up.

What's on your mind?

