January 25th- Mc365’s MacRib Chili Sandwich

McRib’s annual return to the menu sends the ITP shuffling off to McDonald’s with all the solemn conviction of a zealot making a pilgrimage to chapel. I’ll eat fast food when necessary, but the McRib tips toward cloying for my chili-habituated palate. The local grocer’s sale on boneless southern style ribs has me thinking of a McDonald’s/Chili mashup.
In order to infuse the tender pork with enough chili flavor, I am breaking the prep into two parts. Part one features the slow cooker, which will infuse some chili zing. Part two has me broiling the cooked meat and topping it with a sauce that features a pronounced chili chutzpah. The challenge, at least for me, lies in the high temperature portion of this preparation. Anyone in my neighborhood can vividly recount my previous attempt at broiling. Summarily, it found me standing in the front yard cradling the smoking, charred remains of my failed attempt at garlic bread, accompanied by the blaring smoke alarm announcing to all within earshot that my incompetence nearly eventuated in arson.
Flame retardant recipe:
Part 1 (broth)
2 lb southern style boneless pork ribs
1 ½ C vegetable juice
2T chili powder
1t garlic powder
1/2t crushed red pepper

Mix non-pork ingredients.
Place pork in slow cooker and cover with the assembled broth
Cook on low 7 hours
Remove ribs from slow cooker (save broth- see note below)
Broil ribs on high- two minutes

Part 2 (sauce)
1/3 C ketchup
1 t Sriracha sauce
½ t prepared horseradish
1 t chili powdered
1T balsamic vinegar
1 T brown sugar

Mix sauce ingredients in a coffee mug
Microwave 30 seconds.

For sandwich:
Hoagie buns
Sliced onions
Pickled pepper rings

Assemble sandwiches with pork, chili sauce, onions, and pepper rings. Enjoy.

Chili MacRib.  McDonald's mashup.

Chili MacRib. McDonald’s mashup.

Tasting Notes
Engine 9 and Ladder 4 were able to remain at the station tonight. Good thing, as I understand that chili is the #1 fire station cuisine. Yet another reason to respect these heroic men and women. It was, however, the EMTs who nearly paid us a visit tonight, as I nearly forgot to breathe between hasty bites of this succulent success. This recipe worked on every level- I loved it and the ITP tolerated it. It was, according to reports “spicier than a McRib, but good.” Ah, (non) sweet success.”

*Note: I saved the broth from the slow cooker. I will cool it, skim off the fat, and use it on Monday.

This entry was posted in hybrid chili, Mash-up, pork, sandwich, slow cooker and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to January 25th- Mc365’s MacRib Chili Sandwich

  1. Hope Nemo escaped unscathed..:) looks yummy!

    • spasture says:

      Fortunately for Nemo, he wriggled off the plate as I turned my back to grab the fish de-scaler, basting brush, and chili sauce. Looks like the next iteration of fish chili won’t come for some time.

What's on your mind?

