January 22nd- Creamy Crab Chili

A good way to get the ITP’s collective hackles up is to tell them that you’ve turned their favorite dish into chili.  Generally, I am not one to force confrontation and today seemed like a particularly bad day to butt heads.  As common sense is the better part of valor, I decided to acquiesce and not tell them that I was turning one the household’s most revered culinary treasures into chili.   I did it without uttering a word.  To be truthful, I love our crab sauce recipe, as it generates a dish that is rich and delicious, all while remaining simple to prepare.   There was clearly something criminal about tinkering with an unequivocally successful meal.   This was an operation of high risk and low reward.  I was hoping the IPT wouldn’t find out and take it badly.  You see, today it’s too cold to be run out of town on rail.    I shuddered as I chopped the peppers and measured the chili powder- footsteps.  If I was looking for immediate feedback (I wasn’t), I had it even before I dished up the meal.  The most fickle member of the ITP was first on the scene.

“Hey Dad, what’s for supper.  Oh, is it crab sauce?”  He hadn’t seen what I had just placed in the pot but he could surely smell the simmer crab.

“Ah, no, little buddy, it’s more like crab-like sauce.”

“Well, um, what’s in it?”

“It’s, you know, crab.”

“Oh.” “Huh?”

Gulp.

Here we go:

Egg noodles, cooked

1 stick of butter

3 cloves of garlic, mince

1/3 cup poblano pepper, finely chopped

2 t chili powder

½ t rosemary

¼ t cumin

¼ black pepper

1 C half and half

1 can crab meat, drained

1/3 C parmesan cheese

Cook egg noodles according to package directions, set aside

Melt butter in a pan over low heat

Add garlic, poblano, chili powder, rosemary, cumin, pepper and simmer until poblano is soft

Add half and half and stir over medium heat until the sauce thickens.

Add crab and parmesan, heat on low for about 5 minutes.

Serve over noodles

Creamy Crab Chili

Creamy Crab Chili

Tasting notes:

I’m writing this, so it follows that I am currently not at the city limits staked to a pine board.   They loved it.    As evidence, it was necessary for me to make a second pot of egg noodles to provide vehicle for further creamy crab chili consumption.

Fickle ITP member to older brother- “Hey-you have to try this like-um-kinda crab sauce stuff”.

Whew.

This entry was posted in Fish/seafood, Mash-up, sauce, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What's on your mind?

