January 16th- Chili Spaghetti Sauce (Vegetables)

There had been a palpable buzz resounding through the kitchen the moment I stated that we were having spaghetti tonight.  I watched helplessly as all the air (and children) left the room when I dropped the caveat- with chili sauce.  The mood certainly had taken a turn for the worst.  Sheesh, the ITP can be a tough crowd.  It’s not like the entire meal was chili.  There wasn’t a side of chili carrots (not yet) or chili garlic bread (in the works) or chili infused milk (it may come to that).

Without further ado:

1 C carrots, chopped

½ C green pepper, chopped

1/3 C celery, chopped

3 cloves garlic, chopped

1 T fresh jalapeno, chopped

½ Cumin

½ t celery salt

1 t Mexican oregano

2 t chili powder

2 C tomato sauce

Place ingredients in slow cooker and cook 8 hours on low.

Serve over spaghetti noodles.

Jan16

Tasting notes:  Not much of a surprise here- the ITP thought it too spicy.  I can empathize, as the spaghetti sauce to which they are accustomed tends rather sweet.   I enjoyed the meal (palpable ill-will aside).  That said, if I were chili up some spaghetti sauce again, I’d add a small amount of molasses and mushrooms.  What the hell was I thinking, omitting mushrooms?

Looking ahead- I have a pot luck at work tomorrow.   I wonder what type of cuisine I will take?

This entry was posted in sauce, vegetables and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What's on your mind?

